Website feedback

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Zanthus, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. Zanthus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    Reading, Uk
    #1
    Hi guys,

    Just wondered if I could get some feedback and constructive opinions on this website I made for a friend

    www.greentreeyoga.co.uk

    Cheers

    Craig
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    I'm no expert, just a web user... but I liked it
    Seemed to be clean, simple and straightforward... uncluttered

    I like the design
     
  3. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #3
    Two comments; First, ditch the frame. It's irritating and search engines don't like them. Second; perhaps use either a custom font via CSS or change it to something standard, but that fits in with the design a bit more. Aside from that, it's a nice, clean, simple design. :)
     
  4. Zanthus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    Reading, Uk
    #4
    Thanks for the comments yeah will look into fonts
     
  5. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #5
    My only though is it would be a nice if it were a tad bit wider. This is what it looks like on my iPad.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Apple OC macrumors 68040

    Apple OC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Hogtown
    #6
    Craig ... it looks great and is well suited for it's purpose.

    I do not agree with some of the comments, such as ditch the frame, or change the fonts.

    the one thing I did notice is ... read through it a few times. With just a quick glance through ... I did notice Sharons should be Sharon's

    Again ... looks great and I am sure Sharon will agree ... well suited for her business.

    Nice Job
     
  7. Zanthus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    Reading, Uk
    #7

    Thanks ! will change the typo's, as with width will look at making it wider.
     
  8. wpotere Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #8
    Ditch frames for sure... Nice clean layout though, I like it.
     
  9. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #9
    I just noticed that the navigation links at the top are not centered properly, or they should just be spaced out more.

    Also on the main page, the width of the text box is too narrow, and the margins are unequal. :)
     
  10. ZaSheR macrumors newbie

    ZaSheR

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida, USA
    #10
    Clean and simple, I am not a fan of the font though...I always been a fan of Calibri myself
     
  11. Padaung macrumors 6502

    Padaung

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Agree with all the above, re. font and frames. Otherwise it looks lovely.

    One more small thing, the H on the home button changes from upper to lower case depending on which link is clicked. None of the other menu items do this so I'm guessing it's not a style choice.
     
  12. designguy79 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #12
    What reason do you see to keep the frame?

    Also, to clarify, Ryan is referring to the HTML "frame" tag that actually loading the web site up from a different web location and not the layout or graphical elements of the site. Using frames can cause problems for SEO, and it also causes your visitors to only be able to bookmark the home page.

    For more info on frames, see this useful article: http://www.hobo-web.co.uk/seo-blog/website-frames/

    HTH,

    Jeremy
     
  13. manueld macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #13
    From a consistency stand point, I'd move the yoga classes copy to the right since all the other pages have the main content on that side. Additionally the vertical scrollbar for this page is displayed on my browser for no apparent reason which shifts the layout a bit.
     
  14. Apple OC macrumors 68040

    Apple OC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Hogtown
    #14
    It is a Yoga website ... basically an informative site to describe hours and services. The contact form seems fine for appointments.

    IMO, ... it serves the purpose well ... relaxing Yoga. ... I like it :cool:
     
  15. Zanthus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    Reading, Uk
    #15
    The only reason I'm using a frame is that the website is hosted where I have my own website and I stupidly brought the domain name from somewhere else and didn't realise you couldn't transfer them for 90 days. It uses a frame so the website looks as though is is greentree.co.uk when actually its nots. THe only problem I'm having now is getting google to recognise it any ideas ?

    Craig
     
  16. Apple OC macrumors 68040

    Apple OC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Hogtown
    #16
    Have you added Google's webmaster code into the code? and then submit it to Google?
     
  17. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #17
    You don't need to transfer a domain name to your web host, just point it to your host's nameservers.
     
  18. Zanthus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    Reading, Uk
    #18

    But then dosn't that mean that instead of greentree.co.uk the website will show up in the browser as zanthus.co.uk/Greentree which I didn't want. They said if I transferred the domain over I could have it as a add on site to my hosting and it would act as its own individual site.

    Craig
     
  19. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #19
    You should just need to change the nameservers on greentreeyoga.co.uk to justhost's and use the addon domain function in cPanel to point it to that subdirectory.
     
  20. Zanthus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    Reading, Uk
    #20
    Hey thanks for this, I don't quite get how or what namerservers do was looking into this the other day i'm with justhost does my hosting and i brought the domain with another company and have the option to change the name servers but then what do I do after this thanks for any help


    Craig
     

Share This Page