website stalling on first load on osx only (not browser specific)

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by poohat1000, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. poohat1000 macrumors 6502

    poohat1000

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #1
    www.picli.com

    Site stalls when you first load it on OS X - any browser, camino, firefox, safari - yet once its loaded one page. the rest of the site loads perfectly.


    windows on the other hand - super fast, any browser.


    Very odd - can anyone explain this?
     
  2. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #2
    Works instantly for me.

    Firefox 2.0.0.7
    OS X Server 10.4.10
     
  3. ChicoWeb macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Wow, it sure does. Seems more like a server issue.
     
  4. poohat1000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    poohat1000

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Try it on a windows based machine, super fast.

    Surely this hints at it being an OSX issue?
     
  5. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    The problem seems in part to stem from the site trying to figure out where the visitor is from. For me because of where I'm at I eventually (after the stall) get directed to picli.com/en. If you go directly to that site there is not stall.

    Therefore, the problem lies in whatever the site is doing to figure out where the visitor is from and needs to go. Not sure if they do it through server side stuff like PHP or client side with JavaScript, but I'm thinking it's the sites fault, not Apple's. I can't really determine anything further than that. Maybe they did it on purpose because they don't like Mac ... maybe.
     
  6. poohat1000 thread starter macrumors 6502

    poohat1000

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #6
    your right that is the issue it seems.

    However how the hell can this only affect osx based browsers, whether ff safari or camino yet have no effect on safari ie or firfox on a PC... I don't understand that
     
  7. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Code can be made specific for both browser and operating system as they are not all equal, nor do they accept the same commands. Not knowing what the code looks like though I cannot guess what they have done to cause this.
     
  8. SnakeDiver macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    #8
    If it stalls on first load, generally the reasoning is one of two things:

    a) The first page is doing something (either client or server side as discussed)

    b) There is a DNS issue.

    Has anyone viewed this page on a Linux OS (CentsOS, Fedora, Ubuntu) ? Or is it jsut specific to Mac OS?
     

Share This Page