Website Validity

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Vitaminwater, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. Vitaminwater macrumors newbie

    Aug 18, 2009
    I'm looking to purchase something from the website located here. But I'm interested in knowing your take on the website, does it seem legit? I normally like using my paypal and am more skeptical of entering my cc information on a website like that.

    From what i can see it looks fine, has phone numbers for contact, uses yahoo checkout, but I'm interested in your advice.

    Thanks alot!
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core


    Jul 24, 2006
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    Wow. Whether that is a legit business or not I wouldn't order from there. What an awful website.
  3. Vitaminwater thread starter macrumors newbie

    Aug 18, 2009
    Not my first choice, but i would be able to save a ≈ 20 dollars on what i'm looking for.
  4. yg17 macrumors G5


    Aug 1, 2004
    St. Louis, MO
    Todds-Mac-Pro:~ todd$ whois
    Whois Server Version 2.0
    Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
    with many different competing registrars. Go to
    for detailed information.
       Domain Name: DETOXCLEANFREE.COM
       Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
       Whois Server:
       Referral URL:
       Name Server: YNS1.YAHOO.COM
       Name Server: YNS2.YAHOO.COM
       Status: clientDeleteProhibited
       Status: clientRenewProhibited
       Status: clientTransferProhibited
       Status: clientUpdateProhibited
       Updated Date: 12-nov-2008
       Creation Date: 08-dec-2007
       Expiration Date: 08-dec-2013
    >>> Last update of whois database: Mon, 08 Feb 2010 15:31:55 UTC <<<
    NOTICE: The expiration date displayed in this record is the date the
    registrar's sponsorship of the domain name registration in the registry is
    currently set to expire. This date does not necessarily reflect the expiration
    date of the domain name registrant's agreement with the sponsoring
    registrar.  Users may consult the sponsoring registrar's Whois database to
    view the registrar's reported date of expiration for this registration.
    TERMS OF USE: You are not authorized to access or query our Whois
    database through the use of electronic processes that are high-volume and
    automated except as reasonably necessary to register domain names or
    modify existing registrations; the Data in VeriSign Global Registry
    Services' ("VeriSign") Whois database is provided by VeriSign for
    information purposes only, and to assist persons in obtaining information
    about or related to a domain name registration record. VeriSign does not
    guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a Whois query, you agree to abide
    by the following terms of use: You agree that you may use this Data only
    for lawful purposes and that under no circumstances will you use this Data
    to: (1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass
    unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via e-mail, telephone,
    or facsimile; or (2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes
    that apply to VeriSign (or its computer systems). The compilation,
    repackaging, dissemination or other use of this Data is expressly
    prohibited without the prior written consent of VeriSign. You agree not to
    use electronic processes that are automated and high-volume to access or
    query the Whois database except as reasonably necessary to register
    domain names or modify existing registrations. VeriSign reserves the right
    to restrict your access to the Whois database in its sole discretion to ensure
    operational stability.  VeriSign may restrict or terminate your access to the
    Whois database for failure to abide by these terms of use. VeriSign
    reserves the right to modify these terms at any time.
    The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .EDU domains and
    The data contained in, Inc.'s WhoIs database,
    while believed by the company to be reliable, is provided "as is"
    with no guarantee or warranties regarding its accuracy.  This
    information is provided for the sole purpose of assisting you
    in obtaining information about domain name registration records.
    Any use of this data for any other purpose is expressly forbidden without the prior written
    permission of, Inc.  By submitting an inquiry,
    you agree to these terms of usage and limitations of warranty.  In particular,
    you agree not to use this data to allow, enable, or otherwise make possible,
    dissemination or collection of this data, in part or in its entirety, for any
    purpose, such as the transmission of unsolicited advertising and
    and solicitations of any kind, including spam.  You further agree
    not to use this data to enable high volume, automated or robotic electronic
    processes designed to collect or compile this data for any purpose,
    including mining this data for your own personal or commercial purposes.
    Please note: the registrant of the domain name is specified
    in the "registrant" field.  In most cases,, Inc.
    is not the registrant of domain names listed in this database.
       Domains by Proxy, Inc.
       15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
       Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
       United States
       Registered through:, Inc. (
       Domain Name: DETOXCLEANFREE.COM
          Created on: 08-Dec-07
          Expires on: 08-Dec-13
          Last Updated on: 12-Nov-08
       Administrative Contact:
          Private, Registration
          Domains by Proxy, Inc.

          15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
          Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
          United States
          (480) 624-2599      Fax -- (480) 624-2598
       Technical Contact:
          Private, Registration
          Domains by Proxy, Inc.

          15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
          Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
          United States
          (480) 624-2599      Fax -- (480) 624-2598
       Domain servers in listed order:
    Todds-Mac-Pro:~ todd$ 
    The fact that they refuse to put their real contact information on the whois seems very suspicious.
  5. thesmall macrumors member

    Jan 19, 2010
    i dont think i will be buying anything from there

Share This Page