Websurfing moving VERY slowly on 10mbps line

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Grunze, Aug 1, 2009.

  1. Grunze macrumors regular

    Grunze

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I made a similar post about this subject a while back and got a few responses, but unfortunately never got the problem fixed.

    I have a cable internet line connected to a linksys router. I've just upgraded to a 10mbps internet connection which should we super fast. But it is not. Macrumors often takes over 10 seconds to load.. same with facebook and all sites I view. When I download torrents I get speeds of 300kbps sometimes.. I think that seems fine (is it?) .. So to me the problem seems to only for web browsing..

    My girlfriend uses a pc laptop over the same wifi connection and she has no problems both on internet explorer and firefox. Everything moves very fast!

    I get these very slow speeds on both safari (version 4.02) and firefox (version 3.0)

    So.. anyone have any idea what may be causing the problem? or how I can fix it? I'm debating formatting my mac to new and starting from scratch, but I'd really like to avoid that..

    Thanks so much!
     
  2. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, USA
    #2
    whelp, lets see if its a DNS problem.

    use 'dig' in terminal to see the time it takes to resolve a name.

    ex:

    Code:
    $ dig google.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.4.3-P1 <<>> google.com
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 36852
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 3, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;google.com.			IN	A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    google.com.		86	IN	A	74.125.67.100
    google.com.		86	IN	A	74.125.127.100
    google.com.		86	IN	A	74.125.45.100
    
    ;; [B]Query time: 2 msec[/B]
    ;; SERVER: 10.0.0.1#53(10.0.0.1)
    ;; WHEN: Sat Aug  1 15:51:08 2009
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 76
    
    and you see, the bold part tells you the time. Of course using google is cheating since i probably have it in cache. but yeah, just try it with any site.

    Next would probably be using 'ping' to check for packet loss.
     
  3. Grunze thread starter macrumors regular

    Grunze

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #3
    Hi, thanks for the idea.. here are my results.. seems pretty fast to me.

    ---Aris-Computer:~ Ari$ dig macrumors.com

    ; <<>> DiG 9.4.3-P1 <<>> macrumors.com
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 4693
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;macrumors.com. IN A

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    macrumors.com. 503 IN A 74.86.132.180

    ;; Query time: 25 msec
    ;; SERVER: 24.201.245.77#53(24.201.245.77)
    ;; WHEN: Sat Aug 1 16:34:57 2009
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 47

    Aris-Computer:~ Ari$ dig cnet.com

    ; <<>> DiG 9.4.3-P1 <<>> cnet.com
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 29667
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;cnet.com. IN A

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    cnet.com. 300 IN A 216.239.113.101
    cnet.com. 300 IN A 216.239.122.102

    ;; Query time: 61 msec
    ;; SERVER: 24.201.245.77#53(24.201.245.77)
    ;; WHEN: Sat Aug 1 16:35:13 2009
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 58
    ---

    So what is the next step????
     
  4. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, USA
    #4
    well, next i would probably try pinging some website for like 10 minutes to see if I get any packet loss.

    ex:
    Code:
    $ ping google.com
    64 bytes from 74.125.127.100: icmp_seq=0 ttl=48 time=108.462 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.127.100: icmp_seq=1 ttl=48 time=108.820 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.127.100: icmp_seq=2 ttl=48 time=108.883 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.127.100: icmp_seq=3 ttl=48 time=108.457 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.127.100: icmp_seq=4 ttl=48 time=108.437 ms
    --- google.com ping statistics ---
    123 packets transmitted, 123 packets received, [B]0% packet loss[/B]
    
    if theres a significant % of loss, then it could be a bad wifi signal or some interference.
     
  5. Grunze thread starter macrumors regular

    Grunze

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #5
    Hi,

    I'm trying in the pinging, but it never seems to end.. how do I get that final line saying the packet loss? My pining pings forever.

    Thanks!
     
  6. Grunze thread starter macrumors regular

    Grunze

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #6
    OK, i managed to figure that out.. thanks to my brother. 0% packet loss.

    I think I solved the problem for now by disabling ipv6 in my network settings.. seems to be working much better now.. I'll update the thread in a few days to confirm.

    Thanks again for the help!
     
  7. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  8. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, USA
    #8
    hmm, Ill keep that in mind next time someone asks for help :)
     
  9. Grunze thread starter macrumors regular

    Grunze

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #9
    Thanks again guys for all the help.

    I've tried all the suggestions, and they all seem to work great for the first day, then thing go back to being slow.. far to slow for a 10mbps cable connection.

    I think I may format my comp back to square 1... though I'd hate to go through the pain of doing all that, and then have it not help..

    Any other suggestions before I go that route?
     
  10. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #10
    I've had problems in the past with Safari and its security features. One in particular would slow Safari down to a crawl and at times cause it to freeze. Under preferences -> Security, uncheck the "Warn when visiting fraudulent websites" option. Restart safari and see if that helps.
     
  11. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, USA
    #11
    is the connection slow within the LAN? Like file transfers between two computers.
     
  12. Grunze thread starter macrumors regular

    Grunze

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #12
    Boast, The problem is only when web surfing.. I downloaded a torrent file a couple of days ago and i got great speeds of over 500kb... Also when i use ftp i get good speeds.. so that's how I know the problem is only on safari and firefox..

    I wish there was some way I could automatically reset all settings related to internet back to the factory defaults.. and see what happens then..

    Hi cubehacker, it tried our suggestion.. but no luck..
     
  13. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, USA
    #13
    are downloads via HTTP also slow, or just loading web pages?
     
  14. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #14
    That's what I get on a 3 Mbps connection.

    Try these DNS settings:

    4.2.2.1
    4.2.2.2
    4.2.2.3
    4.2.2.4
     
  15. Grunze thread starter macrumors regular

    Grunze

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #15
    Just surfing... on both safari and firefox... even simply things like using the back button on macforums.. or even on a google search and hang and take 10-20 seconds.. for something that is already in my cache.. This has been the case through a few different updates of safari.. version 3 and 4..
     
  16. donuttakedonuts macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #16
    300 kb/s is very fast for torrents.. that's my peak on a 3 mbps line.
     
  17. Grunze thread starter macrumors regular

    Grunze

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #17
    I'm getting speeds right now of 950kbps on torrents.. that is not at all the problem.. the problem I'm having is only with web surfing..
     
  18. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #18
    Are you running torrents at the same time you are websurfing?
    If torrents are eating your up-speed then websurfing is going to be really, really, extremely slow.
     
  19. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, USA
    #19
    what speed do you get download some file using curl in Terminal?
    ex:
    Code:
    curl -O "http://host76.fremont.linode.com/Tailing-Aaron.mov"
     
  20. Grunze thread starter macrumors regular

    Grunze

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #20
    I'm getting speeds ranging from 450-700.

    I really think the problem has something to do with the software of safari.. and firefox.. I'm gonna try and uninstall them completely and reinstall. Though I dont think that will help because it has happened through multiple versions of the browsers.
     
  21. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #21
    there are many threads going around like this and a large portion of mac users are experiencing this problem. it is not based on a certain web browser or even on a certain OS. we arent sure yet and there is no real fix. a format would be a waste.
     
  22. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, USA
    #22
    you already tried using a different DNS server, right?
     

Share This Page