Wecam installation problem on a iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by timmoore46, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. timmoore46 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #1
    G4 running OS X 10.4.11


    We have a Macally IceCam 2 webcam plugged into a Powered usb 2 hub which is usb 1.1 compatible attached to an external power supply.

    iChat sees the camera but says

    'Your Camera is in use by another application'.

    ________

    I've no idea how to find this 'other application' or run any test to see if the camera working !

    Utterly stuck !

    Any thoughts very very welome !

    Tim
     
  2. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Does 10.4.11 have Photo Booth? Or do you have Skype or aMSN to test it? Or maybe even a website like http://www.chatroulette.com/, it will let you see a preview of your cam.
     
  3. timmoore46 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #3
    I've not found Photo Booth. It has Skype but I thought this version didn't do Video on an iMac.

    I'll check.

    Many thanks for responding.

    Tim
     
  4. timmoore46 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #4
    Not found anywhere to download Photo Booth

    Found webcam tweaker and that just shows black !

    : (

    Tim
     
  5. timmoore46 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #5
    After a re-boot Webcam Tweaker shows a nice image but iChat still says this:-


    iChat sees the camera but says

    'Your Camera is in use by another application'.


    So why can one application see the camera and use it but iChat can't ?

    all we are trying to do is establish a video link including speech which another member of the family,

    Skype does not seem to want to play on the video side. Not sure how to fit a microphone to the iMac yet but typing works fine ans can see a video coming back from the relative. As 200 miles is the distance between us we really want to crack this problem !

    Any thoughts very very welcome !

    A very puzzled,

    Tim
     
  6. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Try closing everything, properly closing them. Right click, quit. See if anything is open by pressing command+option+escape, and if it's still saying that when everything is closed, then I don't know.
     
  7. timmoore46 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #7
    Done that, iChat/video/video Preview comes up with the same old message.

    :(

    Tim
     
  8. timmoore46 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008

Share This Page