WeChat & WhatsApp Not Showing Notification till Opened

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by b00st4ddicted, Nov 28, 2016.

  1. b00st4ddicted macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #1
    Hi All,

    I ran into this issues a few times and I have even factory reset my iPhone 7 plus a few times. Notification would come through for a while after factory reset, but after a while it doesn't show again until I open the apps. Anyone else running into this issue? The app icon doesn't show notification nor does the notification pull down. Thanks in advance for the help!
     
  2. Liiv macrumors member

    Liiv

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Yup! Know bug on the betas :) hope beta 4 fixes this
     
  3. b00st4ddicted thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #3
    thank you for the reply. when you say beta do you mean iOS beta or the app itself being beta? I am currently running the official 10.1.1 and not the beta 0_o
     
  4. Liiv macrumors member

    Liiv

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    I'm using the beta for my iPhone and am facing the issue. Hmm.. the official build has the issue as well?! I reckon it's an iOS issue and not WhatsApp, since other messaging apps have this issue as well. I've filed a bug report. Meanwhile try opening the app every now & then to keep it in memory. iOS seems to kill WhatsApp in the background after a while thus explaining y notifications don't appear.
     
  5. nburwell macrumors 68040

    nburwell

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    PHL
    #5
    I have noticed this recently for WhatsApp on both my SE and 7 (iOS 10.1.1 installed on both devices). It doesn't happen all the time, but it is something that I have noticed. With that said, I have not had it happen recently.
     
  6. b00st4ddicted thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #6
    what did you guys do to fix it? i use them for work from time to time and a lot of people are pissed off because i haven't been replying =\
     
  7. Defender2010 macrumors 68030

    Defender2010

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #7
    That's not how PUSH notifications actually work.
     
  8. Liiv macrumors member

    Liiv

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    http://imgur.com/25SPXb3

    My bad! Ur right :rolleyes:
     
  9. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #9
    An app doesn't have to be running or in memory or anything like that for notifications for that app to be received and displayed on the device.
     
  10. b00st4ddicted thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
  11. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #11
    You have the latest version of the apps? Are you always connected to data? Not really related, but do you have background refresh enabled for the apps?
     
  12. b00st4ddicted thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

Share This Page