Wedding Shot in a Gym

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Jonathansm, Jul 5, 2012.

1. Jonathansm macrumors member

Jonathansm

So I will be shooting a wedding/reception in a gym in August. I haven't really done to much shooting in gyms. What would be the best lighting? Would just having an on the camera speedlite with a green gel on it be fine for moving around and off camera flash though an umbrella for portraits? If anyone has had experience shooting weddings in gyms I would love to here what you did.

2. fcortese macrumors demi-god

fcortese

I've had zero experience shooting a wedding (that will change this September, though). But the fluorescent lighting of a gym would obviously need to be accounted for as well as maybe unexpected reflected light off of the light-colored hardwood floor of the gym. Maybe those who shoot indoor basketball events can lend an hand here. Can you get to the gym at about the time of day of the reception beforehand and take some sample shots to see what you need to do with your camera settings and flashes before the event? That might help.

3. Jonathansm thread starter macrumors member

Jonathansm

I can only get to the gym the day of about 2 hours before. Its in a different state. Thats why I wanted to get an idea of what I needed to bring because I really don't want to bring all of my equipment.

4. TheDrift- macrumors 6502a

TheDrift-

I think trying to balance all the light sources in a large room with the flash could be a bit of a headache,

I'd be tempted to do a custom white balance to start with the ambient and shoot with a fast prime and push the iso if needed and just use the available light...

Then again i've never shot in a gym so sport shooters are prob your best bet :)

5. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

Artful Dodger