Weird Audio error in Xcode

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by callebo, Sep 19, 2010.

1. callebo macrumors newbie

Hey
    I'm kind of new to Xcode but I've come a long way on my first app. Adding sound has been a real mess though.
    The first code I used caused the app to lag whenever a sound played and gave a lot of warnings. The other code didn't work at all. And now, when I tried the third option, i accidentally deleted all the frameworks.
    I copied over all the frameworks from a new project into mine, but don't know if you can do it like that. The code I'm using right now also wants me to get the Audiotoolbox.framework, which I now have but it still doesn't seem to work.
    The code I'm using for a playing a sound is:

Code:
    SystemSoundID ssid;

NSString *paths=[[NSBundle mainBundle]resourcePath];

NSString *audioFile=[paths stringByAppendingPathComponent :@"yoursound.wav"];

NSURL *audioURL=[NSURL fileURLWithPath:audioFile isDirectory:NO];

OSStatus error=AudioServicesCreateSyste mSoundID((CFURLRef)audioURL, &ssid);

if(error){NSLog(@"Audio error");}

else{AudioServicesPlaySystemSo und(ssid);}
    I've set the right file name to the imported sound.
    The 2 errors I'm getting along with 1 warning:
    Code:
    (Warning)
    Link /Users/mymacsname/Documents/Magnetman/build/Debug-iphonesimulator/SimpleGame.app/SimpleGame
    In /Users/mymacsname/Documents/Magnetman/AudioToolbox.framework/AudioToolbox, missing required architecture i386 in file
    (Error)
    "_AudioServiesPlaySystemSound", referenced from:
    -[SimpleGameViewController touchesBegan:withEvent:] in SimplegameViewController.o
    (Error)
    "_AudioServicesCreateSystemSoundID", referenced from:
    -[SimpleGameViewController touchesBegan:withEvent:] in SimpleGameViewController.o
    Symbol(s) not found
    Collect2: Id returned 1 exit status

As I said, I'm kinda new to Xcode so these errors leave me clueless. Please help!

2. dejo Moderator

dejo

Staff Member