Weird Blue / White finder stripe error

Discussion in 'macOS' started by johny5, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. johny5 macrumors 6502a

    johny5

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I noticed that I have blue/white stripes in the finder window on my macbook but when I came to calibrate my 24" ACD on my MacPro these blue/white stripes arent there!?

    The strange thing is that if I move a window over the finder window, where the shadow of the window above would be cast, I get the blue/white stripes.

    The monitor calibrated fine and it was like this before calibration but I thought I should plug in a second monitor to see if it was like it on that one. When I plugged the second monitor in, this was fine but then I looked at the ACD display and it had fixed the fault!? I had a full compliment of blue/white stripes.

    Thought nothing of it and rebooted after the safari update and here we are again, same fault is back.
    I am sure this is a software issue and have attached a screen shot.
    Another strange thing, when I was making the screenshot with shift+cmd+4, underneath the whole shadow cast from the selection I saw the blue/white stripes (it took a s shot of the plain background though).

    Anyone any ideas? its annoying :(
     

    Attached Files:

  2. johny5 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    johny5

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    To recap:

    Reboot Mac = no stripes
    unplug display and plug it back in = gives me stripes back


    maybe there is a prefs file i could delete? doesn't explain why when I disconnect and reconnect the display it works?

    omg, now the plot thickens!!!

    I just noticed (after I have unplugged the display and plugged it back in to get stripes) that I can now see stripes on the jpg's I attached above!
    So, now I am thinking there is an issue with the display itself maybe? otherwise why would I not see the lighter blue part of the stripe?
    I have looked extremely closely and it is a solid white background apart from where the shadow drops from above. I will attached a photshoped image of what I see in a sec.
     
  3. johny5 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    johny5

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    When the fault is apparent this is what I see.
    Both realtime and when viewing the screenshot files.

    beats me!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. mrchinchilla macrumors 6502

    mrchinchilla

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #4
  5. johny5 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    johny5

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Thanks for the info on Onyx, but I actually want the blue and white stripes.

    I installed onyx thinking that maybe this would reset something to do with the display but it didnt.
    I am still stuck with this fault.
    I think I may have to do a full reinstall which is a shame but then again I will just wait for Snow Leopard before I do that.
     
  6. sebastian23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    #6
    Decrease the contrast

    Had the same problem, it disappeared after decreasing the display contrast in System Preferences

    HTH
     
  7. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #7
    Hmmm that is really weird... Sorta of cool, but annoying in the long term I can imagine... I don't want you can do but do a archive and install and hope for the best.

    -Omi
     
  8. johny5 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    johny5

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    BINGO! I think you got it :p
    I just went into the contrast settings and it wasnt all the way back at "normal".
    Its weird though that for me to get the display to "work" I unplugged the display and then plugged it back in?
    Heh, I just tried it again, I moved the contrast to the right until the white/blue bars turned into just white. Then I unplugged the display and plugged it back in and it reset the colours back to blue and white.
    Anyway, thanks for pointing this out! I can only imagine that I accidentally pressed those key combo's that change the contrast :)
     

Share This Page