Weird DNS issues with Google.com on OSX

Discussion in 'macOS' started by canhaz, Mar 21, 2012.

  1. canhaz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #1
    Hey guys

    I'm having this bizzarre issue I can't figure out.

    Browsing to Google.com on FF or Chrome on OSX 10.7.3 produces:

    Code:
    The server at www.google.com can't be found, because the DNS lookup failed
    
    If I do this on the console:

    Code:
    MacBook-Pro-2:~ $ ping google.com
    PING google.com (74.125.224.66): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 74.125.224.66: icmp_seq=0 ttl=52 time=39.865 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.224.66: icmp_seq=1 ttl=52 time=44.704 ms
    And

    So it's would appear to be resolving fine on console.

    Weird huh, Any ideas?
     
  2. canhaz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #3
    And just to make it more strange, Google.com on IE 9 works fine (inside Parallels VM)

    The above problem is also intermittent and happens on my Verizon 4g, and on Comcast.

    ----------

    Everything looks fine there. DHCP DNS assigned. Problem occurs from numerous different WiFi routers, Comcast, Verizon, public WiFi etc.

    I'm actually wondering now.. Maybe it's related to IPv6? IIRC google is on IPV6. Could that be causing an issue?
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    What DNS servers are you using, both in your computer and your router?
     
  4. canhaz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #5
    Right now the DNS is assigned as 196.168.1.1 and that is the Verizon 4g MiFi device.

    At home I have an AEBS on Comcast. Same issues. :(
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Change them to either OpenDNS or Google servers, as shown in the link I posted. See if that resolves the problem.
     
  6. canhaz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #7
    Thanks I will try that.

    FWIW I logged into the MiFI and got the settings it's using:

     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    I'd change those to OpenDNS or Google, as well.
     
  8. Roy G Biv macrumors 6502

    Roy G Biv

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #9
    I had severe DNS issues with a Motorola router-modem provided by AT&T. I would have to empty the cache with my browser each time it went bonkers. Trying emptying the cache.
     

Share This Page