Weird Finder Quark

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Enigmafan420, Sep 1, 2009.

  1. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #1
    About a month ago, when booting any of my Macs that use time machine, finder displays the contents of my Time Machine HD (it is a WD attached to an APE).

    This never happened before. It is no big deal, but does anyone know why it is restoring this window each time I reboot?
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    My mother had a similar problem a while back. It turned out that the folder in question was listed in her account's startup items. To check, take a look under :apple: -> System Preferences -> Accounts -> Startup Items.

    Oh yeah, I was going to make a sarcastic comment about subatomic particles, but it's just not coming.
     
  3. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #3
    Thanks I tried that-when I unchecked the box next to the hard drive icon and rebooted, the hard drive icon disappeared on reboot-but the finder window showing its contents still popped up.

    UGG, Could this be a setting in the Airport Extreme itself?
     
  4. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #4
    (Sorry, that should have been Login Items. I was posting from my iPod Touch, so I don't have the window in front of me.)

    Unchecking the entry is not enough. Select it and click the –*button at the bottom of the frame.
     
  5. devburke Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #5
    The checkbox is just whether it should start hidden or not. You want to remove it from the list altogether.
     
  6. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #6
    Except, I NEED the HD to mount automatically each boot up or my time machine doesn't work.

    I have the HD hooked to an Airport Extreme and this was the only way I could get it to mount on each boot-up.

    I am using it as Network Attached Storage, using time machine from multiple Macs and one central storage location.

    Am I not doing the whole thing correctly?
     
  7. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #7
    Your drive should mount automatically even when it's not in your login items. Being connected to the computer is enough.
     
  8. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #8
    Its not connected to the computer-it is connected to my Airport Extreme's USB connection.
     
  9. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    As the others said, REMOVE the drive from the Login Items. It will still mount and be available at boot like you want.
     
  10. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #11
    This worked-thanks. I know when I did it the first time, it did not work. Finder did not see the network drive until I had manually mounted it. It is however finding it now, even though I have removed it from my start-up items.
     

Share This Page