Weird Font Book issue

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by IgnatiusTheKing, May 12, 2008.

  1. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #1
    For some reason new fonts I've added to my system the last few days haven't added to Font Book, but do appear in Illustrator, InDesign, etc. Anyone know why, and how to fix it?

    (Please don't tell me not to use Font Book but Font Program "X" instead. That's a whole separate issue)
     
  2. jerryrock macrumors 6502

    jerryrock

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NY
    #2
    Did you add the fonts through Font Book? Are you looking in the right font collection for the new fonts added? Are you using an account with administrator permissions?
     
  3. IgnatiusTheKing thread starter macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #3
    Yes to all three.

    The fonts don't appear when I look at any collection or library (even "All Fonts"). It's really strange. When I add a font, I can see the Font Book working for just a second, then it highlights the top font in the list. The new one never appears in Font Book, but is available in every other program.
     
  4. covisio macrumors 6502

    covisio

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Font Book

    Are you using Illustrator CS2? Illustrator has it's own font folder. Have a look in there (Applications>Illustrator>Fonts)
    Can't have enough font folders ;)
    Allen
     
  5. IgnatiusTheKing thread starter macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #5
    I'm using CS3, but the fonts were installed through Font Book and appear in Illustrator, InDesign, Pages and every other program I have...except Font Book.

    The font files are all in the same folder (those that appear in Font Book and those that do not).
     
  6. covisio macrumors 6502

    covisio

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Font Book

    Hmm very odd.
    What fonts were they (names). Did you already have fonts from the same family in FontBook already?
    Where are you looking when trying to find the font in Font Book? In the All Fonts section?
     
  7. IgnatiusTheKing thread starter macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #7
    The fonts are Souvenir, Bondini, News Gothic, Knockout. They, along with the rest of my fonts, are in the User > Library > Fonts folder. They do not appear in the "All Fonts" or "User" libraries in Font Book.

    They are all Postscript Type 1 outline fonts. I thought this might be the issue, but I have other fonts of that type that do appear.

    I did not have any other fonts in those families before the install.
     
  8. covisio macrumors 6502

    covisio

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Font Book

    Sorry, I can't think what the problem is.
    I have a vague recollection of having problems getting Font Book to recognise certain fonts when it was first introduced with OS X - particularly with Helvetica for some reason which was very annoying.
    Are you installing the entire font family or just the one variant, i.e. Bold.
    I have News Gothic here, the Linotype-Hell cut, Postscript Type 1. It's not giving me any problems.:confused:
     
  9. IgnatiusTheKing thread starter macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #9
    Mostly it's a whole family, but I think one of them is just "Regular". Oh well, it's not stopping me from doing any of my work, so I guess it doesn't really matter. Very strange, though.
     
  10. flrazor macrumors member

    flrazor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    #10
    One other possibility is that Font Book's font cache is corrupt or "unhappy" as we sometimes say at work. It won't affect the font from being used by things other than whatever program has the bad cache. We get this a lot with Quark when we have to install new fonts on our older systems.

    If you aren't deep into work, you can try Font Nuke which is a free utility to clear out all your font caches system wide. They get automatically rebuilt upon restart or when you open an application again so there's no serious harm in doing this. However, as with anything that modifies your working environment, I'd recommend you get things done you have to do first while things are still functional before trying any fixes. I've never had a problem using this utility and have used it quite a bit on multiple systems, but that doesn't mean that something couldn't happen to someone eventually. Don't want to get stuck unable to finish your job because of something you tried to fix. :)
     
  11. IgnatiusTheKing thread starter macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #11
    Thanks for the tip. I'll try it when I'm in a slow period.
     
  12. janieb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #12
    Thanks SO much for this tip, flrazor! I was having the exact same issue as IgnatiusTheKing. I was working between Quark Xpress and Adobe InDesign as my client still works in Xpress (and requested I use it on a current project). Screen/display of the font I was using quit displaying in Xpress, but worked fine in InDesign. I went to reload it (in case something was corrupt) and FontBook wouldn't show it (no matter how many times I loaded it). But, yep, it showed up fine in Adobe apps. After downloading and using Font Nuke, all is well! Yay! THANKS!
     
  13. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #13
    I had a very interesting font issue a few weeks ago on a broadcast graphics system, it seem the "M" was corrupted in the font pack... It made for some very interesting viewing.

    The was one location that is called "Coonamble" which for displayed as "Coon able", there were many complaints... (In Australia the word Coon is not a very flattering reference to Aboriginals).
     
  14. flrazor macrumors member

    flrazor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    #14
    No problem, I'm glad it helped out. :) I work in a print shop where I am constantly going between Quark and InDesign and if not for FontNuke I would have gone mental in my first few months. For some reason the font caches between those two and Font Book (and sometimes MS Office as well) just don't get along and when you add something one will update and the others get screwy. There's generally no harm in clearing them since they rebuild as needed, just nice to have an app do all the hard work of locating all of them for you!
     
  15. paisios macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    OH
    #15

Share This Page