Weird internet/router issue

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by rye9, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. rye9 macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #1
    Okay, well I have an iPhone 3G which connects seamlessly to the internet... however my brother's new iPod Touch running 2.2.1 (whatever is newest that's not 3.0) is having a strange issue. It connected earlier I believe, and now it's connecting but not. What I mean is: I entered the WPA password and it connects to the router fine, however sometimes, it disconnects right away (the check mark disappears) and now I'm finding that it stays, but nothing happens. The airport symbol (the fan shaped thing) does not appear in the top left and so he can't go online. Where do I go from here?
     
  2. dvdhsu macrumors 6502a

    dvdhsu

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #2
    Have you tried restoring the iPod?
    Check if you have any MAC address filtering on.
     
  3. rye9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #3
    Just tried it still nothing... Now when I try the check appears (so it connects) and then it immediately goes away again...
     
  4. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #4
    This happens to me with every router, I thinks its a software bug, I connect and itndrops the signal quite a bit for the first few seconds weird as it never happens with my laptop. It says it's connected but if the bars aren't there it won't really work.
     
  5. rye9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #5
    If that was the case then I think every iPod would be having this issue.
     
  6. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #6
    Well for me it's very minor and could probably go unnoticed for most. Still present however.
     
  7. fealey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    #7
    i have this problem went to genius bar and they said they dont know anything about the problem. said it is more likely to be a software than hardware issue i am on 3.0 though
     
  8. rye9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rye9

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New York (not NYC)
    #8
    So is the iPod bad and I should get a new one?
     
  9. fealey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    #9
    it could be a bug in the software but im not really sure
     

Share This Page