General Weird iOS 9 wi-fi issue

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by Crayon Meld, Sep 16, 2015.

  1. Crayon Meld macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Bronxville, NY
    #1
    Hey Guys -

    Been using iOS 9 beta since the initial release, everything has actually been extremely stable outside of one strange issue.

    I have a good number of wi-fi connected devices in my apt (lightbulbs, AC unit, sonos) and since I updated to iOS 9, I have not been able to connect to any of the devices. Ive reset my network, got a new router (not because of this issue, just happened separately), reset the devices and nada.

    The lightbulbs and sonos use their own network to connect to in order to set them up, which I can connect to, the apps just never recognize that the devices are there. Friends with various iPhones and iOS 8.x can connect, control and set up the devices just fine.

    Any one experience anything similar, any advice? Its kind of perplexing...
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Have you tried changing your router's wireless encryption to WPA2-PSK?
     
  3. Crayon Meld thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Bronxville, NY
    #3
    No, but the fact that other devices on my network work with the devices (and my device worked pre-iOS9) would seem to rule that out.
     
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    Well you're running beta software, so if you were to try changing the encryption and it works, that'll assist you with making a more specific bug report as to what the issue is. With beta software it's a case of troubleshooting what could be causing the problem and hopefully finding a workaround until Apple fix the issue.
     
  5. Crayon Meld thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Bronxville, NY
    #5
    I know I'm running beta software. Curious if anyone else has run into this issue. It will help with my bug report.
     

Share This Page