Weird MacRumors Forum Bug!

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by snverhallen, Sep 25, 2008.

  1. snverhallen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    #1
    I just came across this weird bug. I accidently double clicked on a thread and the thread title turned into a user-editable area. I took a screenshot (see attachment). By the way it only worked on a thread I posted.

    snverhallen
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Looks like a quick edit for the thread title.

    This really should be in Site and Forum Feedback.
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    Yeah it is. You can do this to rename your own threads.

    Of course the mods/gods can use this to rename other peoples threads. It is a very handy tool and saves you having to go Edit > Advanced.

    FYI I moved this thread into Site and Forum Feedback
     
  4. snverhallen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    #4
    But the thing is, I double click the link, and I see the edit mode; but then my browser continues to browse to the thread, so I have no time edit or save it.

    snverhallen
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    What happens if you double click next to the link but not actually on it?

    It should bring up the edit mode.
     
  6. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #6
    every bug you will encounter is considered here a feature. enjoy!
     
  7. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    Hey cool, I thought only the mods could do that. I see I can do that with my own threads too.

    If you click just to the right side of the thread name or to the right of the pages it will bring that inline editor up but not go into the thread, click none of the hyperlink stuff. you write in what you want and voila!

    edit: it doesn't work on your older threads though so the feature must not be retroactive.
     
  8. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #8
    What? :rolleyes: It is something the forum software is specifically designed to do and saves you time hardly a bug.
     
  9. snverhallen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    #9
    That works now. Thanks, but this is actually a neat feature. More people should know about this!

    snverhallen
     
  10. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #10
    I've noticed it's an utter pain in the ass trying to get it to work. Not a worthwhile feature IMO.
     
  11. kabunaru Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #11
    Thanks at least to the mods/admins of MacRumours that let us even use this feature.
     
  12. Dejavu macrumors regular

    Dejavu

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #12
    click on the whitespace to the right of the title
     
  13. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #13
    I always clicked it by accident, now that I know how do use it it is quite useful.
     
  14. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #14
    Maybe it's the custom stylesheet I'm using on the forum, but I have to click pretty much on the link to get it to function, hence my previous statement.
     

Share This Page