WEIRD problem involving Chrome, integrated graphics, and Flash player.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Baloney1011, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. Baloney1011 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #1
    Okay, so, ANY flash application, whenever I'm on integrated graphics, in Google Chrome on a brand new 15-inch MBP, there is LITERALLY a hole where the Flash should be. And, through the hole I can see the desktop. And, when I move the window, nothing freezes or anything, everything works fine, and the picture in the hole moves, too; it's not frozen. This happens on YouTube videos, games, everything!
     
  2. Baloney1011 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
  3. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #3
    disable gfxcardstatus

    or, kill chrome, set the GPU to integrated, restart chrome.

    user created problem!
     
  4. Baloney1011 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #4
    Oh, thanks! So, I have to quit applications to change graphics cards properly... got it!
     
  5. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #5
    yes. Since gfxCardStatus circumvents the apple system, you need extra steps to use it. haha
     
  6. some idiot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #6
    I'm having the exact opposite problem. I'm seeing a hole in my screen when I'm on the dedicated graphics card but can see it fine when it's on the integrated card
     
  7. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #7
    if you want to use the dedicated card, you need to kill the application before switching GPU's
     
  8. some idiot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #8
    thanks. maybe gfxcardstatus isn't work the hassle? hmm
     
  9. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #9
    the maker of it is working on a update that fixes alot of bugs with the current version on Lion... but i think the killing application requirement will always be there. it's what happens when you break through apple's system for better battery life.
     
  10. Merkyworks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #10
    This is very interesting because my 15" MBP 8,2 does this as well with the exact same programs ect.

    That being said I have also noticed a similar issue when using Mplayer and switching from integrated to dedicated the video screen goes black. If I closed Mplayer and then reopen it the issue is fixed, this is basically what others have said to do so I'm betting this is the fix for the Chrome/Flash issue.
     
  11. phyrexia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #11
    Everyone, this is fixed in Chrome 16 which was released yesterday.

    ...And there was much rejoicing.
     
  12. some idiot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #12
    now when I quit Chrome and it switches back to integrated graphics it gets stuck at a blue screen
     
  13. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #13
    what gets stuck at a blue screen? the whole computer?
     
  14. some idiot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #14
    yep. I quit Chrome, it shows me the desktop for a second before it flicks to a blue screen, then it stays there. I shut the computer to make it sleep and then opened it up and it worked again, but I reproduced the problem by opening and closing Chrome.
     
  15. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #15
    does it always flash a blue screen when you switch graphics cards? and is yours set on dynamic switching or integrated only?
     
  16. some idiot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #16
    I can't usually tell it switches except for the Growl notification. I also haven't been able to reproduce it since last night, so maybe the computer was just in a weird state.

    I keep it on integrated only when on battery and dynamic switching when plugged in (which it has been)
     
  17. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #17
    hmm. the only time mine goes blue like that is when i plug something into the TB port (usually a monitor...)
     

Share This Page