Weird red line on 12.9" iPad Pro screen

Discussion in 'iPad' started by JerTheGeek, May 23, 2017.

  1. JerTheGeek macrumors 68000

    JerTheGeek

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    #1
    Hello,
    I have an iPad Pro 12.9" and I have noticed a weird red line appear on the right side of the screen (when holding it in landscape; top half of screen when in portrait). I will attach a photo as an example. You can see a red line through the Find Friends app icon. But on the wallpaper it is like nonexistent. It doesn't show up in screen shots, and what's weirdest is that it doesn't show up all the time: only on certain screens. Like when I am playing RBI Baseball it shows up pretty prominently, but when I have a white image on screen it doesn't show from what I can see.
    Anyone else experience this issue and what could it be related to?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. JerTheGeek thread starter macrumors 68000

    JerTheGeek

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    #2
    Update: more pictures.
    You can see on the 4th picture the line in the screen, that's from rbi baseball. But on a white screen or another picture, no line! And on the Tips app, the line only shows up on the yellow part not the white part. So weird. What would cause this sort of line that only shows up on some screens?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. d5aqoëp macrumors 6502a

    d5aqoëp

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    #3
    Good job with the pics. Especially the 1st and the 2nd.

    Those are a line of tiny stuck/dead pixels. Your iPad needs replacement from Apple if it is in warranty. If it's not, then see what repair/replacement options Apple gives you.
     
  4. Newtons Apple, May 25, 2017
    Last edited: May 25, 2017

    Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #4
    Most likely a bad connector and will have to be repaired.
     
  5. Relentless Power macrumors G5

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #5
    Thanks for sharing this. I've seen this on other iPads before with this redline issue occurring, and I never knew really what it was. It seems most have not had an answer.
     
  6. JerTheGeek thread starter macrumors 68000

    JerTheGeek

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    #6
    Thanks for the reply. It is still in warranty fortunately, just got it in November; it was Apple refurbished. Would this typically be a repair or a replacement issue?
     
  7. Relentless Power macrumors G5

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #7
    Apple will replace it with a warranty replacement iPad. It's unlikely you would receive a new one. At least you're covered.
     
  8. JerTheGeek thread starter macrumors 68000

    JerTheGeek

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    #8
    That's fine, I don't mind whether it's perfectly brand new or not. I almost always buy refurbished from Apple anyway. Im assuming that a replacement would be the same as a refurbished basically?
     
  9. Relentless Power macrumors G5

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #9
    Correct. It will arrive in a white box replacement and will Resemble in new condition. Apple's refurbished devices are usually very good. And of course they have the warranty attached.
     
  10. JerTheGeek thread starter macrumors 68000

    JerTheGeek

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    #10
    Called AppleCare. They were helpful BUT they want me to erase everything to see if it is a software issue. That always annoys me cause it is a pain to get it back to new again even with iTunes backups.
    I attached two more pictures of a solid green screen displayed on the iPad, which shows the line very well. On the left side you'll see it doesn't go all the way to the end of the screen; kind of odd.
    Anyway, is there any chance that this is a software issue? I really hate to waste my time on a useless restore when I could just get a repair and be done.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. myrtlebee macrumors 68000

    myrtlebee

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore-Washington Metro Area
    #11
    It's a hardware issue. Half of the time they have no idea what they're talking about or they want you to do it because that is the next step in the procedure they have to follow to troubleshoot. Apple's screens are not of the best quality in my experience. Sorry you have this issue as it is a waste of time to have to deal with.
     
  12. JerTheGeek thread starter macrumors 68000

    JerTheGeek

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    #12
    I'll probably just take it to the Genius Bar and try to get a repair or replacement without going through the restore process. If they actually make me do the restore, it'll just do it there and then hopefully they'll just give me a replacement after.
     
  13. Relentless Power macrumors G5

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #13
    Personally, I wouldn't even go though the restore process. If you go in Store, they will just replace it right their for you. It's such a completely different experience in Store than on the phone. It's much easier from my experiences.
     
  14. JerTheGeek thread starter macrumors 68000

    JerTheGeek

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    #14
    Thanks for the tip; that's what I was hoping for. I think it's super obvious that since it doesn't show up in screenshots, it is obviously not software and is a defect with the screen.
    Do they replace on site or will it need to be shipped?
     
  15. Relentless Power macrumors G5

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #15
    Most stores have replacements on site. What you can do is call your local Apple Store and when prompted, say "Manager", this will connect to a Representative and then can advise you if they have available replacements, but they won't confirm any stock numbers.

    Otherwise, if they don't have stock, they will
    Have a replacement likely with in a week or less.
     
  16. JerTheGeek thread starter macrumors 68000

    JerTheGeek

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    #16
    Cool, I'll do that. Thanks!
     
  17. sigftw macrumors member

    sigftw

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Location:
    Crystal Palace, London, England
    #17
    Seems like I have a similar problem (however I’m out of warranty). Do you have any notes that may aide me, as Apple weren’t to forth-coming apart from the offer of a replacement for £559 (which I don’t have budgeted). Thanks in advance for any help you may be able to give.
     

Share This Page