Weird Safari Bug

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by daneoni, Nov 15, 2008.

  1. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #1
    I just noticed that Safari has this weird bug where the minimise button greys out for no apparent reason as show below

    Anyone else have this problem or am i just special?

    EDIT: Forgot to add attachment
     

    Attached Files:

  2. daneoni thread starter macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
  3. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #4
    Never had that. Pretty odd. I never minimise things though (always hide them) though I've never had the yellow button greyed out. Bizarre.
     
  4. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #5
    I never had that. I used (almost) every version of Safari to date, including the 4.0 Developer Preview. Maybe uninstall and reinstall?
     
  5. cmcbridejr macrumors 6502a

    cmcbridejr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #6
    If you double click the top of the Safari window, then it will minimize.

    I know this doesn't explain the your findings, but just another way to minimize.
     
  6. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    Seconded. I never used this so much until I got my MB.
     
  7. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #8
    Keyboard shortcuts!

    CMD+M and CMD+H along with CMD+TAB will become your best friends ;)
     
  8. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    Nah. Using a trackpad while web browsing is more efficient with tap to click.
     
  9. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #10
    Switching tabs, hiding, new tabs - you seriously think it is more efficient to use the trackpad than keyboard shortcuts?

    Oook.
     
  10. cmcbridejr macrumors 6502a

    cmcbridejr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #11
    I second that.

    Keyboard shortcuts are much quicker.
     
  11. Salmar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #12
    Thanks for that suggestion of double clicking the top of the browser window to minimize it. It also works on my Camino browser which I am using. As a new Mac user I learn something new every day by going into these forums.
     
  12. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #13
    Since I have most of the pages that I use in the bookmark bar and when I'm browsing forums all I have to do is two finger tap a link to open it in a new tab no I don't need to use the keyboard.

    However, I do use command-q and command-w to quit and close the tabs. I didn't say I never use them. I also use command-s like everyone else along with command-c, command-x, and command-v.
     
  13. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #14
    CMD+1..9 will load your bookmarks.
     
  14. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #15
    Lol I'm not going to count which one it is and then open a new tab when I can do it in two clicks.
     
  15. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #16
    Yes ;) (I still prefer the slightly matte traffic lights rather than the glossy new ones), although I had expected it to be fixed by now :eek:
     
  16. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #17
    Guess I've got a better memory than you ;)
     
  17. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #18
    I think med school reduces the ability for my hippocampus to form memories outside of the realm of medicine.
     

Share This Page