Weird stripe at the top of MacBook screen

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by sdn3, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. sdn3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #1
    My Macbook screen showed this (check out images)yesterday but it disappeared when I restarted should I go to the Genius bar to see what they can do
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MedHead macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    #2
    If it went away when you restarted then I wouldn't be too worried, keep an eye on the issue and if it crops up again then maybe consider an appointment, but if its just a one off and not linked to other issues then you should be fine!:)
     
  3. Sneakz macrumors 65816

    Sneakz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #3
    If you were able to take a screenshot of it, its a software problem.
     
  4. Menge macrumors 6502a

    Menge

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #4
    Not really. A bad videocard could generate a corrupted texture which is then used somewhere else on the system - thus allowing him to take a screenshot of it.

    But yeah... If it crops again: genius appointment!
     
  5. XboxMySocks macrumors 68020

    XboxMySocks

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #5
    Well, it's where the menu bar (is that even what it's called?) should be so I think it's rather safe to assume that it's a messed up version of that. Might I even postulate it might possibly be a graphics rendering fail due to poor communication with the gpu/thencpu/thenscreen or a failure with the graphics card itself I don't know (I highly doubt the latter, however) but a clean install of Snow/Leopard should fix this.
    I went to edit punctuation in and I saw the above post hinted the same thing I was thinking might be possible. Glad to know I'm not a f*cking idiot :R
     

Share This Page