Weird trash behavior on a home network?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JayElDee, May 7, 2019.

  1. JayElDee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #1
    I have a home network, Mojave on the main/home computer and el Capitan on a home-networked peripheral computer.

    If I am just working on my home/main computer, if I delete a file from the home computer, as expected, it goes to TRASH, awaiting the empty trash command.
    However, when I am logged into the home network from my peripheral El Capitan machine, if I delete an accessed file on the home computer from the El Cap machine, it is deleted immediately. It does not go to the trash. Just delete/POOF and it's gone.

    I would like the deleted file to go to the trash on the home computer, to be deleted when I want to. Is there a fix for that?
     
  2. samjonas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    #2
    Same problem here anyone there to help
     
  3. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #3
    File deletion on network volumes is immediate. It always has been. There is a reason for it, but I'm not sure what that is. I think it's because network volumes cannot be assumed to be always available, so file operations must be performed immediately.
     
  4. JayElDee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #4
    @chabig Thanks for the info
    Is there any workaround? What I have done is insert an extra step, creating a faux "trash" folder and instead of deleting, moving the file to that directory and then dealing with it when I am back on the main desktop, but that's a hassle.
     
  5. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #5
    Unless I am wrong, there is no workaround other than what you did—create your own temporary folder, a place you can move files that you think you might want to delete, before you actually delete them.
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    This is what's known as a "leaky abstraction". The Trash doesn't actually exist; there is no underlying command in the filesystem for "Trash this file". Finder has its own smoke and mirrors to move the file into a temporary location, but all of this is happening in the Finder, not the filesystem itself.

    When you add another computer to the mix, you're dealing with the file sharing system, which bypasses the Finder. Therefore, you miss out on the smoke and mirrors. While on the surface it seems that the system could automatically handle the fake folder system you mention above, it gets complicated when dealing with file permissions etc. so I'm not surprised that Apple hasn't gone to the trouble of supporting it.

    There are also further complications when you consider that the machine at the other end might be running Windows or Linux, or even something more esoteric.

    None of this really helps you, but hopefully it gives an indication of why things are the way they are.
     
  7. JayElDee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #7
    @Nermal thanks for the explanation, some followup

    I tried to create a right click menu item that would move the selected file to the "holding" folder. I used automator for that and it, "Move to Holding," now appears under Quick Actions.
    When I tested it out, the selected file does move to "Holding," but when I try to move it back (it was just a test) to the original location, it moves momentarily back and then spontaneously moves back to holding. In fact, if I try to move a file to another folder, iow moving file A to a "NON Holding " folder via click and drag, bypassing the Quick Action--> it goes to Holding, it goes to Holding and resists return. In addition, the UNDO item in EDIT is ghosted. If I try to move it from Holding to a sub-folder, it seems to allow that.

    I must be doing something wrong...I checked info, file is not locked. This is what the automator window looks like. Any help appreciated. Screen Shot 2019-05-08 at 12.13.47 PM.png
     
  8. JayElDee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #8
    followup
    I deleted the .workflow, deleted the folder, created a new one and redid the automator and it works fine...go figure?
     

Share This Page

7 May 7, 2019