Weird Wireless network problem?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by HazRutter, Jun 13, 2009.

  1. HazRutter macrumors regular

    HazRutter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #1
    So recently I moved my mac into my dads house, at my mum's house, the internet works fine, both on my mac and my vista partition..

    However, soon as I set it up mac worked perfectly, but I tried vista and it was saying it was too far from the access point? The whole network then went weird and neither my mac or vista partition could connect and it kept restarting and that sort of thing..

    It worked fine and my mums house and now I've come back on mac today (at my dads)..I have full signal?

    Any help?
     
  2. someguy9 macrumors newbie

    someguy9

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #2
    Maybe rename his router? There could be another router with the same name
     
  3. bobnugget macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, England
    #3
    Whats the router? The 3com OfficeConnect 11g/Philips 54g routers have problems with the Airport Extreme chips in the first few generations of Intel Macs under Vista - but they work fine in OS X and XP.
     
  4. icedd macrumors 6502

    icedd

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
  5. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #5
    I've seen similar problems many times, nearly always cured by:

    As said previously, changing the router's network name and upgrading the routers firmware.
    Changing the default wireless channel on the router - especially if you (or maybe your neighbour) have got a wireless N capable model as they use multiple channels. Over the past year it's become a very common problem with my work, with N routers next door stopping your G model from connecting properly for example.

    You can check your what wifi channels the routers in range use on Windows by downloading Netstumbler. I've yet to try it in W7 though so you might want to install it in compatibility mode. I use KisMac for OSX but you have to compile the app for the best results.

    Base stations for digital cordless telephones at home too close to the wireless router and wireless speaker senders also cause similar interference because they transmit around the same 2.4Ghz frequency - another reason to change the router's wifi channel.
     

Share This Page