Well, thanks for making it abundantly clear.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iMacZealot, Dec 2, 2007.

  1. iMacZealot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #1
    My dad has some short bursts of capitalistic mania every now and then, and today he suddenly bought a 2.4 15" MacBook Pro for himself. Perhaps because he's having surgery tomorrow, but it seems a bit abrupt anyways.

    So, the Apple store guy brings it out of the back, and I see the Tiger Aqua Blue on the box. I asked him if it had Leopard on it, and he said no, but there's the install disk that we'll put in.

    So, we take it home, and I take the Leopard disk out of the envelope, and there's a note in it. There's a big paragraph about how our new Mac didn't have Leopard when it left the factory, blah blah blah, and then there are these two steps:

    1. Insert the disk into your Mac.

    2. Double click the "Mac OS X Installer" icon and press Restart.

    So, I naturally assumed that this implied that you start up and set up your new Mac in Tiger, as the aforementioned steps imply that there's a Finder window involved. I put the disk in after setting up Tiger, and I double click the icon in the Finder window, and I restart, and it instantly spits out the disk and then sits on a grey screen for about a minute before booting into Tiger. I try it again and again, and the disk isn't recognised. I finally inserted it and booted the computer using the C key, and it spits it out again.

    I already have a copy of Leopard, so I'm just going to use that.


    I just wish they wrote their instructions better. I'm lucky I already have a copy for him.
     
  2. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #2
    their instructions were fine it sounds like you just got a bad disk. I got a Mac Mini with the drop in DVD and I set it up in Tiger and then did the same as you did and it installed fine.
     
  3. iMacZealot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #3
    How did you get your disk to work?
     
  4. /"\/oo\/"\ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    #4
    try restarting with the leopard dvd in and hold down option when the screen goes black, then pick the leopard dvd and do an upgrade install or archive/install.



    ...that should work
     
  5. iMacZealot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #5
    Isn't that the equivalent of starting up while pressing the C key in a sense?

    That didn't work.
     
  6. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #6
    I just did the same as you did which is why I think you got a bad disk. you could probably call Apple and get a new disk, but since you have your own copy I would not bother with trying to get a new one and just use your copy.
     
  7. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #7
    it's similar. pressing 'c' boots directly from the optical drive, pressing 'option' or 'alt' (in the uk) shows the available boot devices, e.g. main drive, optical drive, and any firewire/usb2 drives with an install of MacOS on them. you click the one you want. sorted.
     

Share This Page