WEP Wireless

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fedgirl, Jul 31, 2007.

  1. fedgirl macrumors member

    fedgirl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #1
    My MacBook Pro connects wirelessly but I want to connect it via WEP, how do I go ahead and set the WEP?
     
  2. henhowc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    Did you already configure your router to use WEP?

    The airport will not prompt you for WEP/WPA/WPA2 password unless you've actually specified that you want to use it on the router itself.
     
  3. fedgirl thread starter macrumors member

    fedgirl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #3
    :confused:
    Yes I put the password in but it does not connect unless I deactivate WEP from my other computer to use.

    When I started my system it asked me for the password and it found the connection and connected then now its just acting up and making me deactivate WEP to use the internet. It's strange? How can I fix the problem? Or find the problem on the Apple?
     
  4. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    Who set up your wireless router? Get them to help you. If it was you, then make sure the Router is using WEP. If it is then you maybe try putting in the password with a '$' as the first character. Either you're a non-english speaker or are just rushing but you describe the problem poorly. You shouldn't have to turn off another computer to get WEP to work. They're totally unrelated.
     
  5. fedgirl thread starter macrumors member

    fedgirl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #5

    Sorry about describing the issue poorly, I was rushing.

    The $ sign is the item I was missing, once I added the $ sign the problem was corrected.

    Thank you for your assitance and again, I am sorry for my wording.
     
  6. Ninja Guidan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    #6
    Excuse my ignorance...but what's the $ for when entering the WEP key?
     
  7. Zel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #7
    it probably specifies that they following characters are in a different encoding. like the difference between the letters "babe" and the hexadecimal number "BABE" (B(11)-Thousand, A(10)-Hundred, B-ty-E)
     
  8. devman macrumors 65816

    devman

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    AU
    #8
    you really want to use WPA if you can. WEP is easy to break for anyone motivated enough.
     
  9. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #9
    Yeah, the way I look at it is WEP is just kind of a courtesy thing. It just means "hey, I want to keep my network private, please don't use it" (whereas I think any open network should automatically be legally fair game for anyone to use for legal purposes, within reason). It's sort of like locking a screen door. It's not actually going to keep anyone else, just means "please don't come in without asking".

    WPA is real security.
     
  10. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #10
    WEP is more compatible though than WPA since WEP is older. I do agree with the WPA is more secure comment completely, but my Nintendo DS doesn't do WPA and who wants to krack mine/or the OP's network anyway?

    And I have no idea what the $ does, I just know it fixed the issue and that makes me happy.
     
  11. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #11
    I have no idea why devices like the DS ship without WPA support. It's nuts for anything newer than WPA.
     

Share This Page