Western Digital HDD does not work with my Macbook Pro 13" Unibody

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PiusPatronus, Jan 22, 2010.

  1. PiusPatronus macrumors member

    PiusPatronus

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    #1
    The macbook pro of mine originall has the 160GB Hitachi hard drive.
    So I decided to upgrade the hard drive to a 320GB Western Digital (WD3200BEVT) Hard Drive to get a little bit more space.

    Once I plugged in the new hard drive into my MBP and try to install Snow Leopard, the installation gets stuck (I have been waiting for 4 hours). I also tried with my original Leopard Installation disk that came with my MBP, and still that does not work (does not work as in installation gets stuck).

    But once I plugged back the original HDD that my MBP originally has and did a complete clean install of Snow Leopard, it seems to do the installation just fine.


    Does anyone know what I could be doing that is incorrect?

    FYI: I used the Disk Utility to partition the new drive with GUID as an option and Mac File System Journaled (the first option in the drop down list). I also tried doing Erase on the new drive as well.
     
  2. Big Dave macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Crestview, Fl
    #2
    In the install, make sure you format the hd to " HFS Mac journaled"
     
  3. PiusPatronus thread starter macrumors member

    PiusPatronus

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    #3
    Yes, i believe that is the first option in the drop down list (as I mentioned above) and I did format it that way.
     
  4. Big Dave macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Crestview, Fl
    #4
    Can you delete the partition and create a new one?
     
  5. PiusPatronus thread starter macrumors member

    PiusPatronus

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    #5
    Yep, did that too.
     
  6. PiusPatronus thread starter macrumors member

    PiusPatronus

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
  7. Big Dave macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    Crestview, Fl
    #7
    Sorry dude... this one has got me stumped.
     
  8. PiusPatronus thread starter macrumors member

    PiusPatronus

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    #8
    Ok quick update here.

    I have plugged the 320 GB HDD in and for reasons not known to man, the installation proceeded.
    After installation, it was just stuck on the grey screen so I resetted the PRAM and NVRAM on startup.

    Now, it is functioning and works like a charm!

    EDIT: Tried to upgrade Leopard to Snow Leopard and lo and behold the problem begins again.
    I went back to my old 160GB HDD to prevent any more grief in my part.
     
  9. mrrish macrumors regular

    mrrish

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #9
    Thanks for following up on your problem. It just goes to show how important the troubleshooting basics are.
     

Share This Page