Western Digital HDD shortage due to floods in Thailand

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by steveOooo, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. steveOooo, Oct 29, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011

    steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
  2. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
  3. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Dam, think I must have been a day late!

    Surely there still producing hdds? But guess these are going to big vendors like apple / dell etc
     
  4. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #4
    I'd recommend waiting it out if at all possible for WD to get their supplies back up.

    BTW, most I'm used to seeing, are Malaysian made (make of this what you will).
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Malaysia is next to Thailand, so I would assume they are experiencing the same floods.
     
  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    I'm not so sure.

    Had this been the case, I'd have expected the article to mention their Malaysian facility as well. But given it's further south, they may not be experiencing flooding, or if they are, it's not nearly as severe, and hasn't yet shut down the facility (may just be a matter of time though).

    But even if Malaysia isn't affected (or won't), they're only producing 40% of WD's total HDD production according to the article, so the loss of Thailand's output is a huge hit.
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Hmm, looks like Malaysia doesn't have the floods, but Thai floods may still have a huge impact on productivity: http://www.iol.co.za/motoring/industry-news/thai-floods-shut-down-honda-malaysia-1.1164461

    Anyway, buying an HD right now is probably not the best thing to do. At least here the prices have spiked up by over 100%.
     
  8. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #8
    I heard that a major supply of drive motors is affected - shut down completely. I wouldn't be surprised to learn that no one thought about such a part needing redundant production facilities in multiple regions.
     
  9. stev3n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #9
    I went to MicroCenter and they have a limit of 2 HDD's per person.
     
  10. deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #10
    The pointy head bosses probably heard someone point out the issue , but more likely they all ignored it. Nikon and Canon have underwater camera factory facilities. There is a numerous items that are going to be in scarce supply for a while.
     
  11. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #11
    There are other suppliers that could be sourced until plant operations resume in Thailand. Prices will probably go up a bit (new supplier will have them over the proverbial barrel), but shouldn't stay as high as people are reporting.

    The big thing to worry about using other suppliers and remaining assembly plants IMO, is QC. Drives made with other parts may not be as good, and/or remaining assembly facilities ramped up too high, causing additional errors to creep into the processes/assembly (such as machining tolerances out of spec on the aluminum frame).

    Or claimed component logistics didn't work, or other suppliers were too expensive if any response was given by management.

    There's a lot of components made in Thailand, so there will be shortages all over, and not just electronics (under the impression there's a significant automotive part manufacturing base there <alternators in particular IIRC>, not just final assembly).
     
  12. steveOooo, Oct 30, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2011

    steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    I'm going to just order from amazon uk (£126) and get in line - its avail for £150 but I can use my 4tb graid while I wait (ssd and 2tb green are on their way so no big deal. Although, maybe I can get the enterprise drives for the £150 of the blacks

    BAH! 1 drive per customer on amazon grrr.
     

Share This Page