Western Digital Passport Portable 320GB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by deadpixels, Feb 3, 2008.

  1. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #1
    i'm thinking of upgrading my MBPro HD. the advantage of buying the "Western Digital Passport Portable WDXMS3200TN 320GB" is to keep the enclosure to put the old internal HD inside. anone did it with the 320gb model? is it the same drive as the bare one (Western Digital Scorpio WD3200BEVT 320GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Notebook Hard Drive)?
     
  2. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Damn good question - I was thinking about doing the same thing myself.... In theory it should be fine, but I'd also be interested in hearing from anyone who's actually done it.
     
  3. Fast Shadow macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    Search is your friend, there are a lot of threads about this. It'll work fine.
     
  4. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Not on the 320gb model there ain't.... :rolleyes:
     
  5. deadpixels thread starter macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #5
    it did not find a thread where someone confirms the drive inside the portable is the same as the bare one (maybe WD has only one model of 320gb 2.5"??).
     
  6. Fast Shadow macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    I know there are at least two threads that discuss the 320gb passport, because I read them before I bought one. It's the same drive.
     
  7. heatmiser macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #7
    It's got to be the same; WD only has one 320gb laptop drive on the market :^)
     
  8. deadpixels thread starter macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #8
    ok, that's what i thought, thanks.
     

Share This Page