What 4GB of RAM can do!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by bluedoggiant, Apr 26, 2008.

  1. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #1
    I guess the picture says it all, click to enlarge. Your looking at all my apps open, 78 apps, from 3D graphics generators, movie editing, image editing, tons of other stuff you can imagine, handbrake is open, CPU (2.8ghz) is almost full, and still, ~184MB free of RAM to play with, and the imac is still fast, the problem is that the dock icons are miniature, not really why 4gb is worth it, but thought i would share what its capable of:


    [​IMG]


    Though I will admit, the speed is splendid, the graphics are choppy with all this open

    my imac geekbenched at 3016, its originally 36xx.
     
  2. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
  3. bluedoggiant thread starter macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #3
    lol

    the 2.8ghz is mine

    the other 2.8ghz is delivering on tueday, its my dads, his is 1TB, but mine is 500GB


    the 20" 2.4 is my dad's work mac at his office, he doesnt like the PC there obviously

    and the mbp is my dads laptop

    the MB is the family mac.
     
  4. ASFx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #4
    Better tell your dad that the new imacs will be made available around 3 days from now :eek:
     
  5. akdj macrumors 65816

    akdj

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #5
    An upgrade of Graphics would be welcome for sure...

    Whether or not they include Blu Ray...backwards compatibility with an external drive and HDCP (FW800) monitor support so we would have the ability to add one if we would like.
    Watching 1080p on their 24" at a foot and a half away would be gorgeous:)

    Jeremy
     
  6. Morod macrumors 68000

    Morod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    On The Nickel, over there....
    #6
    Wow!
    That is one impressive dock, man. Never seen one with quite so many apps. Looks like you'll need a 30" monitor if you decide to add any more down there, :D

    Morod
     
  7. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Not so much

    MB C2D 2.16 when I had 1GB RAM (now on 1.5)

    [​IMG]
     
  8. iMpathetic macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #8
    Wait a minute. That means you still have only one iMac and no MBP or MacBook. :p

    You could say "Me:" and "Family:"though.
     
  9. J@ffa macrumors 6502a

    J@ffa

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #9
    bluedoggiant, you might want to edit out the app to the left of Senuti in your dock.
     
  10. iMpathetic macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #10
    Wow, j@ffa, welcome back to MR! :D

    What app is it? My eyes are crap. I prromise I won't tell.
     
  11. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #11
    I can't see either, but if its a P2P program, its perfectly legal, its what people do with it thats illegal.

    Oh and yeah the new iMac is due on Tuesday, so you might want to tell your dad not to open it and take it back and get a new one.
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    lol your a coupla months behind :p. i did that test ages ago.


    a funny thing was when i did that on my mbp CD (see sig). i accidentally opened my an applications folder which had around 80 applications. boy was that fun. had 2 folding applications in it aswell. didnt let me bring up force quite for about 5 minutes. i did however get a SS and will post that soon :p
     
  13. iMpathetic macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #13
    Oh, I think I see what it is. Perhaps it's a serial cracker?

    Let's not jump to conclusions though.
     
  14. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Of course not, its Seeker's icon put on another app I'm sure, because it looks nice :)
     
  15. WhiteNoiseMaker macrumors regular

    WhiteNoiseMaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #15
    Nope because he's got it open in the top left hand corner! ....hmm wonder how many of those 78 apps are paid for! :p
     
  16. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #16
    :rolleyes:

    I think the title should be "Why 4GB of ram is overkill for my needs"
     
  17. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #17
    oi id love 4gb ram if i could get it for my mbp. lately with uni i have been finding myself with no RAM left because i have to run stinking winblows, and have 4/5 spaces filled with 4-5 safari tabs each, a word doc or 2 and some pdf's each.

    i must admit, my mbp, even thought getting on a little bit, does handle these tasks very very well.
     
  18. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #18
    I suppose, but when would the average person use that?

    I'm not saying its useless, but for most people 1Gb-2Gb is plenty.
     
  19. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19
    tru good point. take for eg old people.. why would they need anything more than a g3 imac?? i still even use it when im downstairs to remote into my mac/check emails do word stuff blaablaablaa.

    really depends on what u do.
     
  20. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #20
    I agree and that is what my statement was about because I really didn't see what the OP uses that would requite 4GB of ram especially considering this "test".

    Myself I have 4GB of ram and definitely chug through it very quickly with the analytical software that I use.
     
  21. czachorski macrumors 6502a

    czachorski

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #21
    The multitasking on Macs is indeed amazing. I did the same thing on my PowerMac G4 right after expose came out. I launched about 10-20 documents in each of word, excel, powerpoint, safari, to make the expose look more crowded - still a lot of apps running though, and only at 58% of the processor and 1 GB of RAM.

    (click to enlarge)

    [​IMG]
     
  22. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #22
    So what happened then BlueDoggiant? Did you tell your dad to take it back and get the new one?
     
  23. Genghis Khan macrumors 65816

    Genghis Khan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #23
    4GB of RAM is indeed awesome, i got it on both MacBook and iMac (but only because i found a place which sells REALLY cheap apple RAM)

    the best way to slow down such a beast is to open as many VMware machines as you've got, and run all of the apps you can inside of there...meanwhile in OSX, open up office for mac 2008 suite, and also adobe cs3 suite...if you get that far, you have more than 4GB RAM
     

Share This Page