What Airport card for 2009 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by marstaton4, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. marstaton4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
  2. HoppyToad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #2
    AirPort Extreme Wi-Fi Card for Mac Pro (2009): MB988LL/A

    My advice is to buy it pre-installed.
     
  3. marstaton4 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #3
    I purchased it from Amazon to avoid paying local sales tax, so preinstalled wasn't an option. Thanks for your help!
     
  4. HoppyToad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #4
    Interesting. I do not see this card on their web site.
     
  5. repairsd2007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #5
    Also, I do not see where to install. Maybe I am new to this monster.
     
  6. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #6
    I don't believe that Apple considers this a user-installable option. I doubt it's changed much (if any) from the 2008 model, so you might want to search this forum for previous threads on this topic.
     
  7. flawless1979 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #7
    Airport Card mac pro 2009

    I just installed a airport card in a new mac pro 2009 2.26ghz 8 core.
    The the location is to the left when you pull out the cpu and memory tray.
    Very difficult to get the wires connected to the card, there are 3 wires marked 1,2,3. Just connect the wire 1 to the top of the card and 2 to the bottom of the card,dont know what the 3rd wire is for. mac os x leopard will then detect the card its self.
    Hope its helps someone out there!!
    reply if you need photos of the location or anything else
    :)
     
  8. bradleyb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #8
    Where are you getting the cards?

    Everyone is telling me it's a Apple item only-- have to go to the Apple Store to have them install it.
     
  9. ender78 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    #9

    Photos please.
     
  10. Whiteyez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #10
    The wires is not the 1 and 2. Its 2 and 3.
     
  11. sboerup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #11
    Correct, 2 and 3.
     
  12. flawless1979 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #12
    Installation of airport card 2009 mac pro

    Seams to be ok with wires 1 and 2 at the top and bottom connections.
    But bluetooth seams to be droping...:mad:Thats probulary the reason then.
    Thanks
    Il try it with the connections 2 and 3.
    Are you sure your taking about the mac pro 2009 version.
    Going to install it now and post feedback.
    Thanks again for all help.
     
  13. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #13
    I don't know if they changed things for 2009, but on 2008 Mac Pros, it was wires 1 and 3, with wire 2 taped off. The shorter of the two wires connects to the top connector and longer of the two connects to the bottom connector.
     
  14. flawless1979 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #14
    Airport Card mac pro 2009

    Thanks to you think if i use the wrong wires that there is a possibility of short circuiting the airport card some how???
     
  15. flawless1979 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #15
    Airport Card mac pro 2009

    Hi here are photos of the airport card installed.
    It would be great if anyone can tell if this is the correct installation look closely and you can see the wire numbers in one of the images.
    Thanks
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  16. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #16
    I suppose if it's picking up network signals fine, it's okay. As long as the unused wire has its protective cap in place, I don't think there would be any risk of a short.
     
  17. flawless1979 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #17
    Airport Card mac pro 2009

    Yeah the signal is fine but as i said,bluetooth keeps dropping signals on my wireless keyboard. it comes up an disconnection window on the screen but i can still type no problem. Its kinda weird.
    Good point il but that plastic cap on the unused cable..
    Thanks man
     
  18. vailance macrumors member

    vailance

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    MY
    #18
    will the airport extreme wifi card on early 2008 modal working on the new nahelem based mac pro?
     
  19. flawless1979 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #19
    Airport Card mac pro 2009

    Hi,
    yeah i dont know if it will work.
    You can see the model number on the photos i supplied in previous posts, of the 2009 mac pro.

     
  20. vailance macrumors member

    vailance

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    MY
    #20
    checked seems everything same.. why they advertised it as diff modal number. maybe firmware were diff?:eek:
     
  21. m4rk0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #21
    would anyone be so kind to help me getting one of those wifi card online with international shipping? i am not able to find it anywhere and the old wifi card, installed in the new pro is getting me crazy.
     
  22. Whiteyez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #22
    ebay..
     
  23. SolidGun macrumors 6502

    SolidGun

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Location:
    Twin Cities
    #23
    How much is this at the store installed? I know some places charge installation fee and some places don't.

    I figure if they install it, it will be covered under Applecare?
     
  24. SolidGun macrumors 6502

    SolidGun

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Location:
    Twin Cities
    #25

    Just called my local store and they said $49 installed and it will take an hour to get installed. This is Minnetonka Apple store in MN.
     

Share This Page