What Airport card for 2009 Mac Pro

HoppyToad

macrumors newbie
Feb 2, 2008
18
0
AirPort Extreme Wi-Fi Card for Mac Pro (2009): MB988LL/A

My advice is to buy it pre-installed.
 

marstaton4

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 12, 2009
2
0
I purchased it from Amazon to avoid paying local sales tax, so preinstalled wasn't an option. Thanks for your help!
 

mchalebk

macrumors 6502a
Feb 4, 2008
819
0
I don't believe that Apple considers this a user-installable option. I doubt it's changed much (if any) from the 2008 model, so you might want to search this forum for previous threads on this topic.
 

flawless1979

macrumors newbie
Mar 15, 2009
16
0
Airport Card mac pro 2009

I just installed a airport card in a new mac pro 2009 2.26ghz 8 core.
The the location is to the left when you pull out the cpu and memory tray.
Very difficult to get the wires connected to the card, there are 3 wires marked 1,2,3. Just connect the wire 1 to the top of the card and 2 to the bottom of the card,dont know what the 3rd wire is for. mac os x leopard will then detect the card its self.
Hope its helps someone out there!!
reply if you need photos of the location or anything else
:)
 

bradleyb

macrumors newbie
Apr 1, 2009
1
0
Where are you getting the cards?

Everyone is telling me it's a Apple item only-- have to go to the Apple Store to have them install it.
 

ender78

macrumors 6502
Jan 9, 2005
330
17
I just installed a airport card in a new mac pro 2009 2.26ghz 8 core.
The the location is to the left when you pull out the cpu and memory tray.
Very difficult to get the wires connected to the card, there are 3 wires marked 1,2,3. Just connect the wire 1 to the top of the card and 2 to the bottom of the card,dont know what the 3rd wire is for. mac os x leopard will then detect the card its self.
Hope its helps someone out there!!
reply if you need photos of the location or anything else
:)

Photos please.
 

Whiteyez

macrumors regular
Mar 17, 2009
150
0
I just installed a airport card in a new mac pro 2009 2.26ghz 8 core.
The the location is to the left when you pull out the cpu and memory tray.
Very difficult to get the wires connected to the card, there are 3 wires marked 1,2,3. Just connect the wire 1 to the top of the card and 2 to the bottom of the card,dont know what the 3rd wire is for. mac os x leopard will then detect the card its self.
Hope its helps someone out there!!
reply if you need photos of the location or anything else
:)
The wires is not the 1 and 2. Its 2 and 3.
 

flawless1979

macrumors newbie
Mar 15, 2009
16
0
Installation of airport card 2009 mac pro

Seams to be ok with wires 1 and 2 at the top and bottom connections.
But bluetooth seams to be droping...:mad:Thats probulary the reason then.
Thanks
Il try it with the connections 2 and 3.
Are you sure your taking about the mac pro 2009 version.
Going to install it now and post feedback.
Thanks again for all help.
 

CaptainChunk

macrumors 68020
Apr 16, 2008
2,142
6
Phoenix, AZ
The wires is not the 1 and 2. Its 2 and 3.
I don't know if they changed things for 2009, but on 2008 Mac Pros, it was wires 1 and 3, with wire 2 taped off. The shorter of the two wires connects to the top connector and longer of the two connects to the bottom connector.
 

flawless1979

macrumors newbie
Mar 15, 2009
16
0
Airport Card mac pro 2009

I don't know if they changed things for 2009, but on 2008 Mac Pros, it was wires 1 and 3, with wire 2 taped off. The shorter of the two wires connects to the top connector and longer of the two connects to the bottom connector.
Thanks to you think if i use the wrong wires that there is a possibility of short circuiting the airport card some how???
 

flawless1979

macrumors newbie
Mar 15, 2009
16
0
Airport Card mac pro 2009

Hi here are photos of the airport card installed.
It would be great if anyone can tell if this is the correct installation look closely and you can see the wire numbers in one of the images.
Thanks

 

CaptainChunk

macrumors 68020
Apr 16, 2008
2,142
6
Phoenix, AZ
Hi here are photos of the airport card installed.
It would be great if anyone can tell if this is the correct installation look closely and you can see the wire numbers in one of the images.
Thanks
I suppose if it's picking up network signals fine, it's okay. As long as the unused wire has its protective cap in place, I don't think there would be any risk of a short.
 

flawless1979

macrumors newbie
Mar 15, 2009
16
0
Airport Card mac pro 2009

I suppose if it's picking up network signals fine, it's okay. As long as the unused wire has its protective cap in place, I don't think there would be any risk of a short.
Yeah the signal is fine but as i said,bluetooth keeps dropping signals on my wireless keyboard. it comes up an disconnection window on the screen but i can still type no problem. Its kinda weird.
Good point il but that plastic cap on the unused cable..
Thanks man
 

vailance

macrumors member
Nov 29, 2008
34
0
MY
will the airport extreme wifi card on early 2008 modal working on the new nahelem based mac pro?
 

flawless1979

macrumors newbie
Mar 15, 2009
16
0
Airport Card mac pro 2009

Hi,
yeah i dont know if it will work.
You can see the model number on the photos i supplied in previous posts, of the 2009 mac pro.

will the airport extreme wifi card on early 2008 modal working on the new nahelem based mac pro?
 

vailance

macrumors member
Nov 29, 2008
34
0
MY
Hi,
yeah i dont know if it will work.
You can see the model number on the photos i supplied in previous posts, of the 2009 mac pro.
checked seems everything same.. why they advertised it as diff modal number. maybe firmware were diff?:eek:
 

m4rk0

macrumors member
Dec 28, 2008
90
1
AirPort Extreme Wi-Fi Card for Mac Pro (2009): MB988LL/A

My advice is to buy it pre-installed.
would anyone be so kind to help me getting one of those wifi card online with international shipping? i am not able to find it anywhere and the old wifi card, installed in the new pro is getting me crazy.
 

SolidGun

macrumors 6502
Jul 24, 2004
338
14
Twin Cities
How much is this at the store installed? I know some places charge installation fee and some places don't.

I figure if they install it, it will be covered under Applecare?
 

SolidGun

macrumors 6502
Jul 24, 2004
338
14
Twin Cities
How much is this at the store installed? I know some places charge installation fee and some places don't.

I figure if they install it, it will be covered under Applecare?

Just called my local store and they said $49 installed and it will take an hour to get installed. This is Minnetonka Apple store in MN.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.