what am i doing wrong in handbrake???

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by RMferrer, Dec 1, 2007.

  1. RMferrer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #1
    first off i'm using a PC not MAC. My pc has vista (if it matters). So far from what i've read Handbrake is the way to go. So here's what i did...(i followed the instructions from what i read in other threads).

    1.) i downloaded Handbrake 9.1
    2.) insert dvd into comp

    okay here's where i don't understand...handbrake does not read my dvd as mentioned in other threads. So i click browse, select my comp., press the dvd drive which has the dvd listed(transformers) and then i get this message "No titles found, please make sure you have selected a non-copy protected source."

    what am i doing wrong. There are no titles listed as mentioned in some threads about selecting chapter 2, but i see no chapters listed because it's not reading my disc.

    anyone please help. i just got my iphone so i'm kida new to apple products,macs..etc.
     
  2. motulist macrumors 601

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #2
    You're posting in the wrong section. Try the windows forum maybe.
     
  3. Resevdog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #3
    "No titles found, please make sure you have selected a non-copy protected source."

    There's your problem. You need a non-copy protected file first. Handbrake does not rip copyprotected DVD's and I'll bet that's what you are trying to convert. Now it's quite improper to circumvent the copyprotection on DVD's, nor would I suggest you try any freeware/shareware applications that might do that or be found by using google...
     
  4. motulist macrumors 601

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #4
    Either I'm misunderstanding what you mean by it "does not rip copyprotected DVD's," or you're incorrect. I've used handbrake to rip many commercial titles like T2 and Taxi Driver that come with the standard DVD copy protection.
     
  5. sreedy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Somerset
    #5
    On OS X yes, but I recently tried this on my XP machine using Handbrake and got the same message.... then tried on my iMac and it worked. So i guess the copy protection bypassing is OS X only.
     
  6. Resevdog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #6
    Have you updated Handbrake recently? I believe that they removed the decrypting ability from the program relatively recently due to legal issues where it once was native to the app. My pc version has never been able to decrypt as a standalone.

    Directly from the Handbrake website:

    "Supported Sources:
    Any DVD-like source: VIDEO_TS folder, DVD image or real DVD (encrypted or unencrypted, but protection methods other than CSS are not supported and must be handled externally with third-party software), and some .VOB and .TS files"
     

Share This Page