What App was used to make this?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by ipedro, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. ipedro macrumors 68040

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #1
  2. calebmedia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
  3. ipedro thread starter macrumors 68040

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
  4. ipedro thread starter macrumors 68040

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #4
    I'm a photographer, getting into video and animated presentations and I believe I have an entry into the market through my existing clients.

    What is the learning curve like with Motion?
     
  5. calebmedia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #5
    Not to bad. I have been running a video and graphics business for a couple of years and I would highly recommend it. Its not iMovie easy super easy to learn type or app but it puts out amazing results. Check this site out: http://www.applemotion.net/ These guys really know what they are doing and if you don't already subscribe to macbreak studio (Mac+video and motion) podcast you should check it out. They do a lot of videos on using motion.

    As an example the intro and ending of this video took me 2 minutes to put together in motion.

    Hope this helps!
     
  6. ipedro thread starter macrumors 68040

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #6
    Thanks very much calemedia. Too bad I can't just buy Motion. I know I'll need FinalCut Pro eventually, but $1500 is a hefty entry price since I need just that one app.

    *sigh* I'm sure I can figure out a way to justify the price... :)

    Will it run well on a first gen MacBook Pro?

    I currently run Aperture quite well and have upgraded the HDD to 320GB. I got 2GB of RAM and 256MB on video.
     
  7. calebmedia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    #7
    Yeah that should work. Ive run it on worse systems in the past. If you ever go all out and really pursue this line of work an ideal system would be a souped up iMac.

    Ram is really important. When I first got Final cut pro studio I had 2GB of ram. on an iMac G5 It works but for me but if you really want to do some heavy lifting you may want to consider getting 4GB if you get it here its $55 and these guys look everywhere for the best deals and there good quality.
     
  8. ipedro thread starter macrumors 68040

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #8
    Unfortunately, my MacBook Pro Core Duo only supports up to 2GB.
     

Share This Page