What application does Apple use?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by psychofreak, May 13, 2007.

  1. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    In retail stores, there is an app that shows some clickable things in the centre of the desktop...which app is it?
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    It's a custom, internal app they developed for their own use. I'm 99% sure it's never been released to the general public.
     
  3. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Really?! I'm sure I saw it floating around somewhere when I was too stingy to pay for shareware...
     
  4. yagran macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, East Sussex, UK
    #5
    nar its not over flow that hese talking about. he measn the concierge and events button centre screen almost like a fixed widget running on desktop.
     
  5. mikelong622 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #6
    Docktop might be what you are looking for. I tried it out, but never really fiddled around with it enough because I knew I wouldn't end up buying it.
     
  6. epochblue macrumors 68000

    epochblue

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #7
    I know at one point they used DockTop (linked above), but at this point it might be something custom.

    I actually dug around the Activity Monitor of one of the display models once to figure it out...definitely DockTop.
     
  7. psychofreak thread starter Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  8. mikelong622 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #9
    You bet. Hopefully you actually take the time to get it all configured, instead of just letting it sit and rot in your application folder like I did.
     

Share This Page