What are FCP X's cluster computing capabilities?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by laserbeam273, Nov 19, 2011.

  1. laserbeam273 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I'm currently running a full analysis and transcoding on heaps of HD footage on my iMac. CPU is running around 60%, so it's not bad.. but still. Probably will take over 24 hours at this rate.

    So my thought is, I also have an MBP attached by ethernet, is there any way I can harness my MBP to carry some of the load? There's like 10-15 individual tasks, so in theory that should be possible.

    Also a side question: Why isn't my CPU running at 100%? My RAM seems fine as like 6 out of 12 GB are active, and my HDD (contains raw footage as well as OS) is only doing 500 KB max and the IO/sec is around 0-3 for the most part.. what would be my bottleneck? My iMac is a 2011 2.8 GHz i7 by the way.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    No.
     
  3. laserbeam273 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Right. Well that's a shame. You can do some form of cluster computing when using Compressor, can't you?
     
  4. namethisfile, Nov 22, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2011

    namethisfile macrumors 6502a

    namethisfile

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #4
    yes. compressor lets you render videos using other macs in your network. i have tried this on one video and it didn't really cut down render time. i think this is more helpful when there are a bunch of videos to be rendered.

    ----------

    just did another quick cluster test and it worked using two macs. compressor sent the audio files to one mac and rendered the video files in the other mac. pretty cool.

    second test. i exported hi-def video (first one above was standard-def) and the local mac rendered it quicker than my mac on ethernet. the ethernet mac is still rendering the video as i type this. on this one, compressor sent along the video files to the ethernet-connected mac and not just the audio. hence, why it is probably taking considerably more time.
     
  5. laserbeam273 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Ok, good to see. I figured that a professional NLE program really should have massive cluster support, but at least it has some.
     
  6. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #6
    FCP X should have cluster computing. End of story.

    I have compressor and FCP X and to be honest I hate compressor but the cluster computing is something I don't think Handbrake will ever get and it usually does my encodes allot cleaner looking than just exported a lightly compressed h264 file straight from FCP X then to Handbrake. Also better multi cam editing support might be nice...
     

Share This Page