What are my options for iPhone / phone use in US

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macgrl, Sep 25, 2010.

1. macgrl macrumors 65816

I am a phd student from the uk and over the next year or so i will be spending time in the US for research. I have an iPhone here in the UK and I love having everything syncing with mm.

What are my options for the US

Can I get a prepaid IPhone?

Can I get a prepaid sim in that will work with a uk iPhone

Should i get an iPod touch and just get it to sync when i access wifi and them just use a regular prepay phone for calls

Any help greatly Appreciated

2. mulo macrumors 68020

mulo

3. macgrl thread starter macrumors 65816

No I haven't before. I would consider it if it is s viable option

4. mulo macrumors 68020

mulo

it is.
    if you jailbreak and unlock you can buy whatever prepaid/plan in the us and it will work - however as them americans are a bit weird and use stuff like CMDA as well, you pretty much have to use AT&T.

when thats said and done AT&T is a ***** and requires your phones IMEI to even get a prepaid plan, but your not allowed to create a prepaid crad with an iPhone, so you have to buy a crap phone. The sim you then get is locked to the crap phone for 60 days I think, then you can use it in your iPhone.

what you could do is if you know anyone over there, like a roomie or w/e, is have them buy a prepaid card asap, that way you have a shorter wait before you can use it in your iPhone.

5. macgrl thread starter macrumors 65816

Thank you for explaining that. It seems a bit more complicated than I want to be honest

6. mulo macrumors 68020

mulo

yeh I know :(
    We europeans are used to a phone being bound to a certain carrier, but in the us the sim is bound to the phone as well.

You could fake the IMEI but that is highly illegal - could get you up to 5 years of prison lol.

but there really is no other viable way, if you want to use the iPhone, without getting huge bills form your UK carrier.

Edit: