What are Some good Games that will work on macbook 13 with GMA950

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Gballa, Nov 11, 2008.

  1. Gballa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #1
    i have looked at other threads but none were specifically related to my mac model, so i thought i would ask...
     
  2. cptrios macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    #2
    If you're in to FPS's, go download OpenArena (it's free). It runs really well on my MB (same model as yours) at good settings, and there are plenty of players online most of the time. It's based on Quake 3, so the graphics are nothing spectacular, put it's fun.

    Lots of games will run if you don't mind low settings and OK-to-bad performance. These include:

    Civ IV - you pretty much need to put every graphic option down to the bottom. The game will run great for a while, but in the later stages your framerate will start suffering badly and it'll take FOREVER to go from turn to turn. I still play all the time, however!

    Spore - With the latest update, everything works (once again with all settings down). Creature stage will run decently if there aren't many creatures onscreen, and the framerate will slowly degrade as the game goes on. Definitely playable though.

    WoW - I don't play, but I know it works!

    Age of Mythology/Age of Empires III/C&C Generals - Yeah, they're old, but they play just fine!

    If you've got Boot Camp running, you'll be surprised to know that Rome: Total War works totally playably on low/medium settings. Definitely check it out!

    Disclaimer: I consider all of these games "playable" because I'm a lifelong Mac user (and mid-level Macs at that), and am therefore THRILLED when I get a game that runs over 30fps consistently. If you're coming from a PC gaming powerhouse machine, you'll probably end up tearing your eyes out!
     
  3. BayouBengal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    #3
    Do you want these games to be OSX native or will you being running Windows? This will greatly effect your selection of games.
     
  4. Gballa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #4
    well i do have bootcamp...and i love games like stronghold2 and stronghold crusader, or other castle builders that are realistic, not with wizards and magic...and i love fps like halo or farcry...
     
  5. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #5
    I rather doubt GMA950 will be able to cut any of those.... atleast not farcry!
     
  6. Gballa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #6
    well i played farcry cidered, and i wish someone would cider stronghold 2 for me!!:)
     
  7. capoeirista macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #7
    After a long break, I am replaying Halflife 1 on my GMA950 MB (under bootcamp). It runs very well. Yes it is old, but it is still one of the all time great games. If you've not played it get a copy, it'll be cheap.
     
  8. BayouBengal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    #8
    Old school games like Starcraft should work more than fine. Blizzard has a OSX installer for it so don't worry about not having classic mode support. They need to put one out for Warcraft 2:mad:
     
  9. cptrios macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    #9
    Heh if the original Halo can run on my old 733mhz G4, it can run on a MacBook!
     
  10. Beric macrumors 68020

    Beric

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #10
    I play AoE3 on the max available settings with my GMA 950 Macbook, with the computer elevated, a small fan constantly running pointed at the rear, and coolbook and fancontrol installed.

    The free open source UFO: Alien Invasion also works well under those same conditions.

    The number one problem with running something is the CPU heat. If you can keep the CPU heat (which is also the graphics card) down, you can run a lot more.
     
  11. Solid Raven macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #11

    you mean MAX settings? if so: haha
    you mean max settings your mb is able to handle? which would mean low settings.
    you mean AoE2 or AoM?
     
  12. Beric macrumors 68020

    Beric

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #12
    I mean Age of Empires III, at the max settings Macsoft allows for this machine (I could probably go higher). Yes, it's not that high of settings. And the temps are at 160 degrees F. 24/7 when I run it.

    I also play AoE2, which I actually like better than AoE3.
     

Share This Page