What are the official system requirements for 10.5 Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dwl017, Aug 26, 2007.

  1. dwl017 macrumors 6502a

    dwl017

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Location:
    Murder Capitol DC
    #1
    I apologize if this has been posted but I cannot seem to located it, I am looking for the official systems requirements for 10.5 Leopard. Not just a guess but does Apple have an official page where the official system requirements are listed.

    Thanks
     
  2. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #2
    At one time, there was a web page on Apple's web site, but it has since been taken down.

    Current developers are probably under a NDA which will prevent them from posting specifics.

    Here are the Tiger requirements:
    - PowerPC G3, G4, or G5 processor
    - Built-in FireWire
    - At least 256MB of physical RAM
    - A built-in display or a display connected to an Apple-supplied video card supported by your computer
    - At least 3.0 GB of available space on your hard drive; 4GB of disk space if you install XCode 2 developer tools
    - DVD drive for installation

    Logic would say that the requirements for Leopard would be more than Tiger. My guess is that G3 support will be dropped and minimal RAM will be up to 512MB. If at all like Vista, there may be some video requirements as well.

    Unfortunately, until Leopard is released officially, or close to the release date, we probably won't know the specifics.

    But knowing Apple, they will make it able to run on the most minimal system possible.
     
  3. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #3
    This Wikipedia Article has the hardware reeeeequirements that were laid out in the Apple support page that was apparently taken down. Here's what was announced at the time:


    * A G4 (800 MHz or faster)-, G5- or Intel-based Mac
    * A DVD drive
    * At least 512 MB RAM
    * 7 GB of hard disk space – 12 GB if Xcode is also installed
    * The latest Firmware
    * FireWire Ports
     
  4. dwl017 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    dwl017

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Location:
    Murder Capitol DC
    #4
    Great Thanks :) I'm in the safe zone
     
  5. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #5
    As I mentioned in my post, we won't know for sure until Leopard is released.
     
  6. dwl017 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    dwl017

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Location:
    Murder Capitol DC
    #6
    I understand this is not the bible or the final word but I am not running a G3 or a G4 under 800Mhz my system is a PowerMac G4 1GHZ MDD Firewire 800 model so I will just cross my fingers and hope for the best. :)
     
  7. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #7
    Understand.

    Gut feeling is that you won't have a problem with the processor itself (G4) or speed (1GHz). I think that they will cut off around 733 or 800 or higher.
     
  8. Kashchei macrumors 65816

    Kashchei

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Meat Space
    #8
    Yaaaaaargh!!!

    My PowerMac dual G4 (500 Mhz) just fell under the wheels of progress.

    And I've been so looking forward to Leopard!
     
  9. stubeeef macrumors 68030

    stubeeef

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    #9
    I am hoping that my daughters eMac and my ole PB G4 (1.33) will make the cut. My daughters have 2 eMacs, 1 is 1.25 the other is 800mhz. all are north of 512 of ram.
    I really want to upgrade from 10.3 and like doing every-other system.
     
  10. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #10
    Stu its a little off subject but just wanted to say high and welcome back?
     

Share This Page