What are you going to use your mac pro for?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Runqen, Feb 18, 2014.

  1. Runqen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    #1
    I'm thinking of getting the nMP, however when i compare it to a PC of similar price the PC is the better choice performancewise. Anyway, doesnt have much time now but can write some more later. For now, please post which MP you're getting, what you're going to do with it and why you chose it.
     
  2. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #2
    Well, this a new topic that has never been discussed here before. Can you post what you're comparing to exactly?
     
  3. Runqen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    #3
    Well that might have been a missleading sentence. I'm not saying that a pc performs petter than the mac with the equivalent hardware. What i ment sas that with the PC i can customize the build exactly how i want. I would perhaps swap the xeon for a 6core i7, for example or swap the superfast flash hdd for a normal SSD and then add a third graphics card. Understand what i mean?
     
  4. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #4
    I do, but then your comparison is inherently flawed. The fact that there is no Mac with a consumer desktop CPU and GPU is a separate discussion. In order for this comparison to make sense, you should be comparing the nMP to similar PCs with workstation Xeon CPUs. It's like saying I can turbocharge my Toyota sedan and it will be just as fast as your sports car, and cheaper to buy, too!
     
  5. Runqen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    #5
    I'm not comparing the computers that i believe you're thinking.
    What i ment was simply that with a PC i can customize my build completely while on the MP you only have a set of choices like amount of ram and such.

    However, the intention with this thread isnt to discuss pc vs mac performance but to discuss the following subjects:

    Which MP are you getting?

    What are you going to use it for?

    Why did you chose the way you did?

    Why did you get the MP and not a PC? (for example: Becouse of the OS, the design?)
     
  6. koban4max macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #6
    6core for porn
     
  7. Marty62 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin formerly London
    #7
    I am getting 2012 MP, Hex core 3,33ghz / 24gb RAM / ATI 5770 1GB/

    Using it for music production / writing / editing mostly. ( it's my profession )

    I chose this route as it is a significant upgrade to a 2008 system.
    It also gives my access to all the hardware /PCI cards etc that I own.
    Having to change ALL of that for the nMP would have cost me at least three
    times as much ... pointless at this juncture.

    I have been a Mac user since 1994, the only "Windows" system that I owned
    briefly was so riddled with issues, that I could not use it in a professional
    recording environment.
    That was a LONG time ago and I know for a fact that you can buy systems
    specifically built for pro audio use, that are fantastic.
    However, the Apple route has suited my needs and has been on the whole,
    totally rock solid and I need that in a professional recording situation, where
    time is money.
    - just my opinion from experience, nothing more.
    M

    ----------

    I spat out coffee at that one :)

    Priceless !!!

    M.
     
  8. dexum175 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #8
    8 core for memes, and might be upgrading to a 12 core for GIF based memes
     
  9. iEisberg, Feb 18, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2014

    iEisberg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    #9
    Made my day!!!:D

    _______________________________

    6core D700 for development, development related design-work and casual gaming
    ...
    and of course because I can and I like the design
     
  10. razer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #10
    rofl!
     
  11. snouter, Feb 18, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2014

    snouter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #11
    I create 2-10 minute videos for computers hooked up to TVs, projectors and web. At the moment, using 1080p HDSLR video but excited about some upcoming 4k cameras.

    I edit and create graphics and animation using Adobe CC and Cinema 4d.
     
  12. Anim macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #12
    Hex, D700

    Will be replacing 2 older machines. My trusty 2007 iMac and a core i7 PC.

    3D Modelling and Animation
    OSX and iOS development (can't do that on Windows)
    Casual high end gaming
    Social and general use
     
  13. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #13
    I have a Mac Pro 3,1

    For my job as an IT consultant/technician working mostly with PC and Mac environments for over 20 years. QuarkXpress/Photoshop with occasional Premiere Final Cut as a sideline/hobby.

    Makes absolute sense having a dual boot Mac OSX /Windows machine for my work. Do data recovery work almost weekly so the SATA sleds get used a lot for either OS. Net cost for the 3,1 with 8 core 3.2 and 32Gb ram was £280 before upgrades - very cheap.

    I have PC's but instead of having two primary workstations, one OSX the other Windows a Mac Pro can do the job of both. Do not want the hassle of Hackintosh for my own uses either they are already enough of a pain to manage for clients!
     
  14. Merlin65 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    #14
    I have (hopefully) an 8 core, 64gb, 1tb, D700 nMP coming in the next week (Apple has taken payment).

    It's main use will be Windows software development (yes I know) with a couple of VMware Windows PCs running SQL Server.

    I think I will have a boot camp Windows installation for games (never used boot camp before).

    I had planned on buying a Mac Mini when it is updated to host a shared iTunes library but I am considering running the nMP 24x7 - not sure about this one though.
     
  15. bomberaia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    I'm thinking about buying a nMP with Intel Xeon E5 3.7GHz base model since I run AutoDesk Revit in Win 7. Revit doesn't take advantage of muti-cores. I have a MP 1,1 and I'm looking to upgrade. I'm not sure if I should buy a nMP or iMac i7. I love how you can upgrade the MP's.
     
  16. nathan43082 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    #16
    First and foremost, graphic design and programming.

    Secondly, recording original songs in Pro Tools… like this… https://soundcloud.com/nathan-dickson/mystery-girl-over-limited

    Lastly, gaming, both Mac-based games and Windows games via Bootcamp. I am betting that most of my gaming time this year will be in Elder Scrolls Online. I like being able to play that within Mac OS X, but having the option to swap to Windows for the Crossfire yumminess.
     
  17. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #17
    OSX
    Digital Photography
    Videography
    3D Product Rendering

    Windows
    3D CAD
    Game

    That pretty much sums up what I do in both environments
     
  18. koban4max macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #18
    ....true story.... Need that high intensity cores to run highly intense graphics lol:D

    ----------

    :d
     
  19. makaveli559m macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    #19
    Which MP are you getting? I couldn't afford a newer one so I had went with a 2.1 Mac Pro

    What are you going to use it for? I use it for videos, video editing, music and music editing, photos and art, gaming and watching movies :)

    Why did you chose the way you did? The price range and the fact that it has really good specs.

    Why did you get the MP and not a PC? (for example: Because of the OS, the design?) A Hackintosh is still not an Apple computer and you could do so much to make OS X think its running on a native machine until something goes wrong.

    FYI Runqen was right so you guys bringing a pc discussion are the ones that are flawed.
     
  20. paulsdenton macrumors 6502

    paulsdenton

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    Barton, Vermont USA
    #20
    I use mine for video processing using FCPX v10.1. I got it to shorten transcode and optimized media generation times on video import. With my old Mac Mini this process took forever. I mean, like overnight for a big batch of DV or Mpeg 4 files.

    Yesterday I fed the Mac Pro a big batch of Mpeg 4 (maybe 20 or so converted from 60 minute VHS tapes) files and it was done in under 15 minutes. I actually got some heat out of the top of the Mac Pro! What it was doing was importing and transcoding the files into Pro Res 422 and analyzing and correcting the audio. FCPX does these things in background but it bogs a slower system down too much for me.

    I use it also for Illustrator and InDesign CS6, but the Mac Mini handled these just fine. I can't say I see much difference in the performance of both programs, but I'm a slow worker in both of these so maybe I'm not pushing it very much.

    For storage I got a Pegasus TB2 array that I am running as RAID 5, but I do another backup of digitized primary source material to a different hard disk that I transport daily off site. If I had to start over again I would configure the RAID for full redundancy and just buy a bigger unit. Capturing all the stuff I get from tapes is such a pain that I would not like to contemplate doing it over again if two disks in the RAID 5 were to fail. I would back it all up to the Cloud but I live in a very rural area and all we have here for internet service is slow DSL from a terrible provider.

    I think if I did not have a lot of video to transcode I would not have bought the Mac Pro, but would have gotten an iMac. I would never go back to Windows under any circumstances. I found running Premiere on Windows to be too unstable. Maybe things have changed with more recent versions but I got too many "NTLDR is missing" blue screens to ever trust Windows again.

    Just my two cents worth.
     

Share This Page