What backup do you use?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Chef55, Nov 25, 2008.

  1. Chef55 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    U.K.
    #1
    I bought an Iomega 500gb external to backup my Time Machine. It lasted approx 6 weeks before dying :(

    Just wondered what reliable options you all use and who's got the longest living one ;):D
     
  2. bier-meister macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #2
    I have 2 buffalo terastation NAS drives, a 1TB and a 2TB running in Raid 5. The 1 TB is about 2 or 3 year old and the 2 TB is 12 months. Running 24/7, no problems thus far. I was a little sceptical when getting the first one as some of the reviews were not so good but I'm happy with them, do what I need plus I can FTP into them when I'm not at home to access my files.
     
  3. misterredman macrumors 6502a

    misterredman

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #3
    I use FreeNAS on an old spare PC and do the backups to it with time machine through wireless since almost a year. Of course I use the FreeNAS for many other things too.
     
  4. scottydawg macrumors 6502

    scottydawg

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #4
  5. Chef55 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    U.K.
    #5
    Cripes didn't realise how expensive some of these external hd's were :eek:

    Doesn't anyone use something more reasonably priced thats reliable? :confused: Also being in the UK have not heard of some of these brands either.
     
  6. Catch Them macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #6
    I prefer a DIY approach, just grab an external enclosure and a good sized drive you want (i prefer any of the AAKS drives by WD)

    Enclosures:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...92 1053807123 1054107131&bop=And&Order=RATING

    the icy dock is slick and perfect, and if you fill up on back up just grab another drive and slap it in and youll be set.


    i have a ICYDOCK + 750 on my router for time machine for 3 different comps and it works well.
     
  7. bertpalmer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #7
    I use a western digital harddrive to CLONE my harddrive - i don't use TM at the moment but probably would in the future when I have the money to buy a 1TB drive and enclosure.
     
  8. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #8
    I have a 320GB iomega minimax connected to the iMac and use SuperDuper! for software.

    Also have a LaCie Rugged 320GB for the MBP, which I use with Time Machine. It's better for the laptop because it's Firewire bus powered, so much easier to carry around.
     

Share This Page