what benefits does TB2 offer over TB1?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by CultHero, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. CultHero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #1
    I have been waiting to upgrade my 2005 iMac and wanted to see what the new rMBP had to offer.

    I will be buying the loaded option 1tb 16 gig RAM etc or the 768k 16 gig RAM ivy bridge.

    Trying to decide whether the Haswell is worth the extra $500 or so $$

    The refurb store has this:


    Refurbished 15.4-inch MacBook Pro 2.7GHz Quad-core Intel i7 with Retina Display
    Originally released June 2012
    15.4-inch (diagonal) Retina display; 2880-by-1800 resolution at 220 pixels per inch
    16GB of 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM
    768GB Flash Storage
    720p FaceTime HD Camera
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 1GB of GDDR5 memory

    for $2399 which is a decent saving over a similarly equipped Haswell.

    Obviously I lose 256gig of storage and faster wifi and graphic and processor, but for what I do it will most likely be plenty fast enough still.

    I want to future proof as much as I can as I will hold onto this computer for a long time, so the lack of TB2 could be an issue, except I am not familiar with limitations so any input is appreciated.
     
  2. kashirat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #2
    TB2 offers increased bandwidth so that you can run (future) 4K/retina displays.
     
  3. CultHero thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #3
    hmm that is a bummer, I remember reading somewhere that people had been driving 4k with the ivy bridge. Is that not the case?
     
  4. kashirat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #4
    Looking at the available 4k displays:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/4K_resolution and

    It looks like most do it via 2 cables.

    And from

    http://www.extremetech.com/gaming/1...-your-computer-isnt-powerful-enough-to-use-it

    It looks like you can technically do it on the 2012, but of course you'll be using 2 thunderbolt ports to push pixels, whereas you could *technically* use one TB2 port on the new rMBP.

    I don't have any direct experience hooking up these displays to either machine though, so take my information with a grain of salt!
     
  5. iAppl3Fan macrumors 6502a

    iAppl3Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #5
    Interesting insight. I'm probably not going to worry too much about TB2 then since the original TB is still very expensive.
     
  6. warplane95 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    #6
    Can I have non mobile gpu with tb2? Like nvidia quadro card
     

Share This Page