Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

theLane

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 11, 2008
Hi all,

I have been using a low-end camcorder to learn FCE and am now ready to get a high-end camcorder. My goal is to start a side-business doing video editing/production... mainly as a hobby. I'd use it at events like sports, weddings, etc.

I want high-def video capability. What video camera would you recommend for this?

I was looking at the JVC GZ-HD3 (http://camcorder.jvc.com/product.jsp?modelId=MODL028148&pathId=141&page=10) Is this overkill?

PS: I am no expert in these area's :)

Thanks in advance for the help,
Lane

polyethyleneguy

macrumors member
Jan 7, 2005
Florida
Did you specifically want a tapeless camcorder? Only if you are using the newest version of FCE can you easily start editing the tapeless forms. The best in this class is the Canon HF100 or HF10 (there is also a new HF11). If you go tape, I would go with the HV20 or HV30, also by Canon.

theLane

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 11, 2008
Well no, I have no preference to tape or tapeless actually. I will check out those camcorders you mentioned, but is there a different brand that you can recommend as well?

Thanks
Lane

Courtaj

macrumors 6502a
Jul 3, 2008
Edinburgh, U.K.
Well no, I have no preference to tape or tapeless actually. I will check out those camcorders you mentioned, but is there a different brand that you can recommend as well?

Thanks
Lane

Take a look at the Sony SX11 / SX12 (HD camcorders recording to harddrive and Memory Stick) and the Sony CX12 (no harddrive, records to Memory Stick only and is possibly branded the CX11 if you're in the States).