What can be upgraded on MacPros?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CBell, Sep 28, 2008.

  1. CBell macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #1
    I currently have a PowerMac G5, and I'm going to buy a new Mac Pro soon. I just was wondering what I can get low features on to save money. Obviously I know the ram and video card and HDD, but can the processor be upgraded also? And can the video card be replaced with a PC card? Or is that still like the IBM days where I'd have to pay over twice the amount for a card that the PC has had for a couple years?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    RAM, HDD, GPU (HA HA!), CPU (doable, but hard), ODD.

    Not motherboard or power supply, particularly.
     
  3. CBell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #3
    That's good to know.

    Why did you laugh at gpu, though?
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    For OSX usage you need to buy a Mac specific one. There are lots of threads about it: do a search...
     
  5. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #5
    Don't forget the optical drive... that's upgradable too.
    Though using a non-Apple drive will not allow you to burn discs if your using iApps with the exception of iTunes.
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    There are only seven that work in OS X as opposed to the dozens available for Windows.

    7300, X1900, Quadro 4500, HD 2600, 8800 GT, Quadro 5600, and 3870.

    The 4850 and 4870 are rumored to be coming, but don't bet on it.

    I said ODD (optical disk drive). What did you think I meant?
     
  7. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    No pun intended but Mac OS X support far more graphic cards than those you listed.

    Those you did list, however, are the ones the current Mac Pro does support at this moment.
     
  8. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    Well, as we're talking about the Mac Pro exclusively, I figured that he'd know that I meant "booted into".
     
  9. CBell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #9
    If I got a really good graphics card and put it in a Mac Pro, would I be able to use it in Windows?

    What I was thinking was getting the lowest card Apple offers for the Mac Pro, and then getting a really good one to use when I boot into Windows. So I'd have two cards in the Mac Pro. Would that work?
     
  10. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #10
    yes.
     

Share This Page