What can I do to my IBook?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by KINGBEEZ36, Jul 11, 2009.

1. KINGBEEZ36 macrumors newbie

I have an old Mac IBook G3 that was gave to me. I'm new to Mac and was wondering if theres anything I could do to it? Its got 10.4 Tiger on it now. I've used windows forever and I like it already. Low on HD space and RAM. Any thoughts?

2. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

NewMacbookPlz

Bump the RAM up to the maximum 640MB (If it's a whitebook, not sure what the clamshell maxes out at) and the HD as big as you can get in PATA 2.5" form factor.

3. KINGBEEZ36 thread starter macrumors newbie

Its a white one. I know it can be paint but I wish I could clear it. Make it see-thru.

4. crazyrog17 macrumors regular

You can make it clear, but it's not really that cool. Remove the top case and bottom case and use 91% rubbing alcohol to remove the paint. A tooth brush and large tub helps so you can let it soak and scrub. I do suggest painting it. Krylon worked well when I helped my friend paint his G3 iBook black.

As for hardware upgrades, you need more RAM and a huge, fast hard drive. The hard drive will make it run a teeny bit hotter, but chances are it'll be quieter than the stock hard drive. It'll be a 2.5" IDE (PATA) hard drive, in the 5400 RPM sector. Perpendicular recording is a teeny bit faster. There's also the option of replacing the optical drive so you can burn DVDs. Another modification is to change the Sleep LED to your favorite color. Here's a slightly cliche one, but put a transparency of a picture, pattern or color under the backlit apple.

I'm glad to see someone putting older tech to new use and welcome to Mac.

5. ChocolateJesus macrumors member