what can i do with old ram?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Jimmeney, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. Jimmeney macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #1
    hi, I have a 2.8ghz 2008 model imac 24'', upgraded the ram from 2gig to 4gig, so have the old ones going spare.

    if anyone has a use for them in the UK, I have a padded envelope and will happily post for free as it seems a shame for them to go to waste.

    Thanks

    Jim
     
  2. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #2
    Ha, I was wondering the same thing but with RAM from my Macbook Pro. Its just sitting there. Not sure what to do with it. Maybe recycle it somewhere? :confused:
     
  3. Lordedmond macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    Tilchestune UK
    #3
    Keep it and reinstall it if you have to send the mac in for repair
     
  4. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    Exactly! Apple won't work on your system if the RAM is 3rd party.
     
  5. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #5
    Most people will just sell it to offset the cost of the newer ram. That's a very nice gesture on your part to just give it away though. :)

    I bet someone on that side of the pond will be very thankful.
     
  6. txnoob macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #6
    Is this really true. I've heard so many mixed stories about this. Can someone with actual experience comment on this?
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
  8. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #9
    If your system is hosed enough that they can't repair it and need to replace it, you'll get back a new system with only the original amount of RAM you bought installed....so beware.
     
  9. txnoob macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #10
    This doesn't answer my question. I'm aware of what you're stating. The quote I was commenting on stated the won't work on it with 3rd party ram installed.
     
  10. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #11
    Correct Apple guidelines are that if you do have 3rd party hardware installed, they won't service it. If you need to mail it in for repair, just forget it, they won't service when they find out you installed 3rd party hardware. If you're bringing it to the Apple Store, it really depends who services your computer. Some Geniuses don't care and won't blame your 3rd party hardware if something fails. Keep your old RAM and make the switch for repairs.
     
  11. txnoob macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #12
    iLog, much thanks. So as long as I put factory memory back in should I need service, I'm golden.
     
  12. scottness macrumors 65816

    scottness

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    Room 101
    #13
    Good to know... I was about to Craigslist out my original RAM and hard drive for my MacBook... Thanks!
     
  13. davemulheran macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    UK - London/Kent
    #14
    Hi Jimmeney

    I have just bought a mac mini, with 1GB

    another stick would be great, if it is infact compatible? have you any idea if imac ram will fit 09 mac mini ram?

    I am in london

    cheers

    Dave
     

Share This Page