What can I do with this Power Mac G5?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by LIVEFRMNYC, Jul 25, 2016.

  1. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #1
    A neighbor gave me a Power Mac G5 in mint condition minus the hard drives. Don't know how much ram is installed yet. Serial(YM408ZJ0NVR) check states max 4gb ram and max Mac OS 10.5.8.

    I actually have the perfect space for this monster size tower. Which will be hooked up to my room TV. I'm thinking about using it for offline storage and a media server.

    Is it worth buying hard drives and and possibly max ram if needed? Any other ideas what I can do with this?
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    G5s are hot and very power hungry and have very limited capacity to add storage. They're simply not good candidates for use as a media server.
     
  3. LIVEFRMNYC thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #3
    I was thinking about adding one of these for now to see how it goes.... HardDrive

    The room I'm putting it is always ice cold from the ac, so that shouldn't be a problem. Note that I don't plan on using it as an always on server, just when I need it.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    @LIVEFRMNYC Your G5 is a single 1.8 model, which is going to pale in comparison to any dual CPU model. That being said, you have a maximum of 8 GB of RAM. Personally, I think 2-4 GB is a sweet spot for Leopard and any programs you throw at it, after all the programs are not being updated and will not increase in resource use.

    That hard drive will work great in the G5, and a number of us run Western Digital drives. You may need to install a jumper to kick the drive into SATA I backwards compatibility mode, but aside from that they work great.
     
  5. LIVEFRMNYC thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #5
    Thanks.

    So I will be good with one or two sets of this?
    https://www.amazon.com/Memory-Apple...d=1469501217&sr=8-2&keywords=power+mac+g5+ram
     
  6. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #6
    More than anything they make an awesome space heater. I just cant stand to use mine when it's 90*F in my house from the damn thing.
     
  7. lcdswat macrumors newbie

    lcdswat

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Location:
    Ufa, Russia
    #7
    My friend has adapted PMG5 1.6 to a web-server with some other features. He did a lot of work to make it quieter, and now his G5 looks great in this role. But there is one moment — in our country electricity is pretty cheap, so it's not expensive to keep those server.
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
  9. LIVEFRMNYC thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #9
    Thanks again.
     
  10. LIVEFRMNYC thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #10
    Does anyone know the best video card upgrade for this machine?
     
  11. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #11
    As a cheap card that is more than enough, a Radeon 9650 256MB from an early 2005 2.3/2.7GHz G5 will swap right in.

    --

    Also, is your username from Saturday Night Live when they say "Live in New York City it's Saturday Night Live!"
     
  12. LIVEFRMNYC thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #12
    Yup, finally somebody got it. :D
     
  13. WalnutSpice Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #13
    You can put two 4TB hard drives in them adding to 8TB storage
     
  14. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #14
    Yes, and aside from the Mac Mini and the current Mac Pro, they're the only desktop computer Apple sold in many years which can only fit 2 disks.
     
  15. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #15
    Spending the money to drop a high end card is going to be money wasted as you only have a single 1.8 CPU. If it was a dual CPU machine I would say go for something like a 9800 Pro AGP card, but your machine would do quite nicely with a 9600 XT or a 9650 as Gavin stated.
     

Share This Page