what can I expect for a ssd in macbook pro 128g

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mountainman716, Sep 13, 2010.

1. mountainman716 macrumors newbie

I am tired of my pc failng & freezing up..I am looking at a Apple Macbook pro with a 128G ssd ,,blogs say the ssd in apple's are not so good..others say they are the best...any comments would be welcome as I am a Newbie with Apple...thanks:confused:

2. bamf macrumors 6502

You should look at a 3rd party SSD - they are cheaper than buying the one from Apple.

Most people are buying Sandforce based SSD's for Macs now (as third party drives).

3. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

AlphaDogg

I believe the most common Sandforce based drives are OCZ and OWC drives.

4. deeesea macrumors 6502

go get yourself a Macbook/macbook pro with the standard drive, and upgrade to a third party drive, rip out CD drive in macbook/macbook pro and dump the stock HDD into there and enjoy speed and storage space.

Or do the same and grab an enclosure and use the stock HDD as an external.

Just don't upgrade squat from apple (unless it's processor..in which case you really don't have a choice lol). Always a ripoff.

5. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

AlphaDogg

Sounds like such a delicate process ;)

6. mountainman716 thread starter macrumors newbie

mountainman716

I do not have the time or money to buy a new computer and rip out a HHD and install a SSD.I am just looking to get a computer with a SSD and have less problems with failures and viruses...Is Apple all that bad that you wouldn't own one?..I need some sound advice as what is the way to go here and why... Who makes Apples SSD's and why are they so bad...is it the $$$ that's killing this option of owning a ssd macpro ?
    m/716

7. AdamRock macrumors 6502a

AdamRock

8. bamf macrumors 6502