What can i keep from my mac pro 2009

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by max001, Feb 13, 2017.

  1. max001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    #1
    Hi guys i have mac pro 2009 2.66 32gb ram i would like to switch to PC but would like to keep my xeon processor and memory i have about 1500 or new build. What motherboard would you recommend for dual xeon 2.66 i will also be ruining 2 gtx 770 32gb memory

    Thanks guys
     
  2. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    Well, since you have almost all the parts you need, why not just install Windows on the machine you already have? Your only issue with that plan is running 2x GTX 770s, which you'll need an additional PSU for. Would cost a lot less and achieve the same result.
     
  3. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #3
  4. max001, Feb 13, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2017

    max001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    #4

    Thanks guys or all our help I am a VfX artist that is using octane render and i need 2 graphic cards to run octane. Right now in my mac i have GTX770 and 5770 GTX is ruining on separate power and i dont have space to put another GTX i alos upgraded this mac with SSD and HD. I would like to move from mac to PC but would love to salvage as much as i can.

    Thanks again
     
  5. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #5
  6. max001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    #6
    Puno hvala komsia kako zivot?
    --- Post Merged, Feb 14, 2017 ---


    Idea to save money

    Say for instance I decide to put a triple slot height graphics card in my 2009 Mac Pro, the second 16x slot would be blocked. Could I use a 3m PCI-E extension cable to make use of the second 16x slot? I appreciate any PCI-E device wouldn't have a 'secure slot' but it could be secured in the case by other means.

    Basically right now i have GTX 770 4gb in my mac and 5770. GTX is powered by external 500w power supply my idea is to get 3m PCIe x16 riser cable and connect another 770 that would be attache outside via another power supply. I see people doing this in PC and it works i wonder i it will work with mac

    Here is the cable i will use
    https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/3m/8KC3-0726-0500/3M12026-ND/3641403
     
  7. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #7
    Unless you spend a lot on PCIe riser cables, they can cause all sorts of issues. Why not try and sell the 770s and get something like an R9 Nano, or 2x RX 480s. No external PSU required.
     
  8. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #8
    I don't use Octane, so I'm asking: Why do you need 2 video cards? One Titan or 980Ti that I linked would run circles around the dual GPU setup you seem determined to pursue.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 14, 2017 ---
    Also, OP are you aware that you can run Boot Camp on your Mac? Much simpler than trying to transplant components.
     
  9. max001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    #9
    Octane will only work best with 2 gpus And yes i know i can run boot comp i am just frustrating when it comes to upgrading mac
     

Share This Page