What can I upgrade with ML On 2010 MP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by steveOooo, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    If I upgrad from the nice and stable/reliable SL to ML on a 2010 MP - could I officially upgrade the crap ati graphics card? Would anything else change? E could I slip a usb3 card in etc?
     
  2. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    Well you could pop in a HD 5870, if you have the 5770. And lots of people use USB 3 PCIe cards in their Mac Pro, dont know if they work with ML though.
     
  3. peabo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #3
    Only the Caldigit USB 3 card currently works with ML using their beta driver. You could put an nVidia 680 in there if you really wanted the fastest card, but there would be no boot screen.
     
  4. steveOooo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Oh ok so I'm stuck with nothing more modern than the 5870 - I hear it uses more power / noisier and warmer?
     
  5. danklife macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    #5
    "You could put an nVidia 680 in there if you really wanted the fastest card, but there would be no boot screen."

    Does this mean that there would be no bootcamp? Currently using a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285 in a 3,1 and would really like to upgrade.

    Thanks for any info. New to this...
     
  6. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    the nvidia 550,570 670 and 680 all work out of the box. You won't have boot screen but you could pick up a gt120 for cheep and throw it in to get the screen.
     
  7. danklife macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    #7
    Ahh, thanks BigJohno for the quick reply! I actually have NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 in there as well right now as I have four monitors for post work. So that would work for me perfectly. Great!
     

Share This Page