Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

motulist

macrumors 601
Original poster
Dec 2, 2003
I've been using a 1 ghz powerbook G4 for the past 6 years now, and when I used to do audio stuff on it, it did much of what I wanted it to do. I could do a couple of softsynths at a time, but then needed to freeze the tracks to reclaim processor power. When mixes got complicated the software interface (of digital performer) got slow, but the audio still played fully and correctly. I haven't done any audio stuff in about the past 4 years, and now I'm looking to get back into it. So I'm wondering, what can today's computer do these days?

My 6 year old powerbook did a lot already, but with some significant limitations. So I'm imagining that today's computers can simultaneously do like 50 softsynths, 50 polyphonic notes of symphony samples, and 50 high end reverbs, while recording 16 tracks, and still the interface is speedy and responsive. Is that type of thing still a fantasy, or can today's computers really deliver this type of essentially limitless audio power? If not, then what sort of capabilities could I expect from a modern imac or lowend mac pro?

salientstimulus

macrumors member
Jul 3, 2009
So I'm imagining that today's computers can simultaneously do like 50 softsynths, 50 polyphonic notes of symphony samples, and 50 high end reverbs, while recording 16 tracks, and still the interface is speedy and responsive.

I can't speak to an 8-core mac pro, but I promise you an iMac would start sobbing if you tried that...

That said, I've had 8-10 audio tracks with 3-5 plug-ins each, non-frozen, and recorded new tracks (also with 3-4 plug-ins on software monitoring), with latency below 3 ms, without ever knocking the CPU out. HD access is another issue, but that's apparently why god created FW800.

motulist

macrumors 601
Original poster
Dec 2, 2003