Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

appleguy123

macrumors 604
Original poster
Apr 1, 2009
15 minutes in the future
I am a sophomore in high school and would like to be a quantum physicist for my career. I go to a small school so we do not offer very specialized classes so if you recommend i take a class in high school i may tell you that i cannot take that class. some things you may need:
1. I want to go to either William and Mary or Harvard
2. I want to study the multiple worlds theory almost exclusively.
3. What courses do you recommend i take in high school and college
4. Where do they work? Is it only in universities?
I know this is a mac forum but there are such a wide array of people here that a few of you should be able to answer my question.
Thanks.

ucfgrad93

macrumors Core
Aug 17, 2007
Colorado
I would recommend that you take as many math & science classes as possible. Also, take the highest level classes that you can as well. Good luck.

Tomorrow

macrumors 604
Mar 2, 2008
Always a day away
Your fourth question leads me to my advice:

You're a sophomore in high school. Before you start tailoring your class schedule to this career, spend some time learning a little more about the career. I don't mean specifics like whether you would work in a university, but find out what sorts of things a quantum physicist actually does on a day-to-day basis, what the demand for those positions is like, etc. That research will also point you in the right direction in your class selection.

Don't be surprised if sometime between now and the time you graduate college, you tweak your choice of career just a bit. It happens to many of us. Good luck!

dmr727

macrumors G4
Dec 29, 2007
NYC