What computer can handle two 4K monitors

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Terry50, Apr 9, 2016.

  1. Terry50 macrumors newbie

    Terry50

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    Hello,
    I want to have two 4K monitors. But I want the least expensive Mac possible. It can be used and old.
    What was the first Apple computer to be able to do this?

    Thanks a lot. I'd appreciate any ideas.

    Terry
     

    Attached Files:

  2. h9826790, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2016

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    The old Mac Pro with a modern PC GPU.

    If 2x 4K monitor is all you need regardless the processing power. Even the Mac Pro 1,1, can do that with a current PCIe graphic card (e.g. 750Ti). This setup can give you dual 4K output with less than $150 (of course, it will cost you some time to buy the cheap stuff on eBay).

    A more make sense combination is something like the Mac Pro 4,1 with the Maxwell GPU, e.g. GTX 950.
     
  3. ValiumEater macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    ??? This is the least expensive way to do it as per OP's request?
     
  5. ValiumEater macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    #5
    Have you seen the price of 4K displays?
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    Yes, but even the cheapest 21.5" Retina iMac cost > 2x 27" LG 4K monitor.

    Of course it's a much better computer, a simpler setup, everything has native support, and the Apple display may be better then LG, but I don't think it's cheapest way to do it.
     
  7. Terry50 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Terry50

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    Hi
    Can a ATI Radeon HD 5770 video card handle one 4K screen. I already have the screens. They are TVs Seiki 39". I love them. They were on sale for $250.oo at New Egg. I bought them for $364 before that from Tiger Direct.
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    Yes and No. Yes, it can, but only at 30Hz, generally not a good idea for computer user. And you may need some 3rd party software to achieve that.
     
  9. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #9
    The Seiki TV's can only do 30hz anyways as well.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    It's a prefect match then, but you will need an active mDP to HDMI adaptor.
     

Share This Page