What computer do you use for editing?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by iSax1234, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. iSax1234 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    #1
    I'm pretty sure this is well deserved in this section of the forum....... anyways....

    What computer and software(s) do you edit your photographs on, tell us specs, and any comments on your computer whether be positive or negative, and what your editing.

    This should be interesting:D

    Post your photos as well if you wish!
     
  2. blockburner28 macrumors 6502

    blockburner28

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    New Orleans
  3. NathanCH macrumors 65816

    NathanCH

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #3
    20" iMac with Photoshop CS3 and Bridge. I can be bothered to buy for Lightroom or Aperture. Go Bridge!

    I need to upgrade to 4GB of ram though.
     
  4. Gold89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    2.4ghz/2gb Macbook with a cheap 22" BenQ screen, PS CS4 & Lightroom 2. Also export best shots to iPhoto for friends/family to use. :)

    Really need a faster HDD and more ram and lightroom runs like a bit of a dog but holding out for funds for either an i7 iMac or MP.
     
  5. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #5
    Mac Mini 2ghz 4gb. Data stored on a couple of Freecom Datatanks. Lightroom 2.6 and CS3.

    Seems to cope quite well with what I throw at it.
     
  6. Designer Dale macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #6
    I have a 17 inch MBP-the 2008 version-driving a 23 inch Samsung HD monitor. The laptop has a 2.5 GHZ C2D chip, 4 GB ram and the 250 GB HD.

    I file (for now) with iPhoto and edit with PhotoShop CS3. My backup system consists of a Toshiba 160 and WD MyBook Studio FW 800. The WD runs TimeMachine and has a seperate folder for photos.

    Dale
     
  7. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #7
    A Quad Core Mac Pro, though I really wish I'd splurged on 4 CPUs when I got it because I generally have a lot of other stuff going on. These days I'm generally using Capture NX2 as my raw converter and PS CS4 as my editor. I was keeping things in Aperture 2, but I think I'm likely to get LR3 next. I also use Bibble Pro, Photomatix and AutoPano Pro as necessary. I was using RPP as my raw converter, but need to retest it as it seems the defaults for NX are sharper these days compared to when I originally tested RPP. On the road I'll do basic edits on a 17" MBP if I have to.
     
  8. flosseR macrumors 6502a

    flosseR

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    the cold dark north
    #8
    2009 Macbook Pro 13", 2.53ghz, 6GB Ram driving a 30" DELL Ultrasharp. Running Aperture 3 (after buying the upgrade) with a dual backup system, one online, one on disk.

    Nothing special but it works.
     
  9. bocomo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    2007 Mac Pro 2.66 quad; 13GB Ram, 70GB 10k scratch disk; Radeon 4870; Dell Ultrasharp monitor (with a crappy used second monitor for palettes)

    Lightroom 2
    Photoshop CS4
    Bridge
    PTGui
    Noise Ninja

    have been very pleased with my setup (especially after ditching the 7300GT card it came with)
     
  10. someoldguy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Location:
    usa
    #10
    I'm using a mac mini 2.0 , nvidia graphics , 4 gig. memory , 500 g internal hard drive plus 2 1T. firewire externals , 23"ACD ( the matte one ) , a Nikon Coolscan 5ED film and slide scanner , CS4 with PT Lens and Alien Skin Exposure plugins . Tried Lightroom but Bridge works better for me so far.
     
  11. AScottMcCauley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #11
    Lightroom on a 27" iMac with external 20" monitor just for email and videos.
     
  12. macbrooke macrumors regular

    macbrooke

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario!
    #12
    I have the oldest hardware here it seems! :D
    Mac mini 1.5 and a 17" studio display monitor.

    I use a combination of CS4 & iPhoto, I also have Lightroom running on here.
    When needed I access my husbands PC that runs the latest version of Corel.
     
  13. Edge100 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Where am I???
    #13
    Penryn MBP 2.5GHz with 4GB RAM, LR2.6, CS4

    I have a 23" LG display that I occationally use.
     
  14. CrackedButter macrumors 68040

    CrackedButter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    51st State of America
    #14
    2Ghz Core Duo MacBook with 3GM of RAM, Aperture 2, CS4 (rarely use it but it is there). 2, 500GB drives in the laptop. One acts as the backup.
     
  15. fridgeymonster3 macrumors 6502

    fridgeymonster3

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #15
    I use a 2008 Octo Mac Pro & Photoshop CS3 and Aperture 3.
     
  16. gødspeed macrumors regular

    gødspeed

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #16
    2009 MacBook Pro 17" -- 3.06ghz, 4GB RAM, 7200rpm 500GB. I'm thinking about upgrading to 8GB RAM and adding a OptiBay 5400rpm 640GB (for storing music, movies, etc) drive soon.
     
  17. kate-willbury macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #17
    amd triple core with 4 gig ram windows 7 machine since cs4 only supports windows for 64-bit photoshop. my mac is just for general internet usage.
     
  18. romanaz macrumors regular

    romanaz

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #18
    I currently use a 2007 17inch MacBook Pro, 2.4ghz w/ 6gigs of Ram. I'm using Aperture 3 for managing and most of my edits now, with Photoshop CS4 sitting on the sidelines for any heavy duty pixel edits. I use noise ninja occasionally for my ISO 3200 shots if I want to keep them.

    I currently have 3 externals involved in this, 1 is a time machine/vault backup, the other is an on the road aperture 3 library for small edits, and the other is my big old 1tb LaCie drive.

    things on my want/need list is another few terabytes of harddrives, a monitor, and a mac pro.
     
  19. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #19
    A Mac Pro (just replaced my 2006 with a 2009) with two 30" ACDs using a combination of Nikon Capture NX2 and Photoshop CS4. I find having the extra screen real estate very useful.

    I also have a MacBook Pro 3,1 which I use for editing on the road.
     
  20. seedster2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
    I use a 2008 Octo Mac Pro & Photoshop CS3 and LR3 Beta
     
  21. Abraxsis macrumors 6502

    Abraxsis

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #21
    My current setup ..

    24" iMac C2D @ 2.5Ghz w/ 4GB RAm
    Lightroom, Photoshop CS4, Silver Efex, Viveza, and the Nik Sharping Program
    Genuine Fractals for uprezzing
    2 x 320 Lacie Rugged FW800 Drive as primary photo storage(1x primary;1 backup kept in in-house fireproof/waterproof box).
    Custom "Hardened" OWC FW800 for off-site backup (kept in safety deposit box at bank)
    Wacom Bamboo Medium (more than enough for photowork)

    On the go ...
    13" Unibody MBP
    Lightroom and PS CS4
    Sofortbilt for shooting tethered
    15' high quality USB cable
    Second 320 Lacie Rugged FW800
     
  22. Mr.Noisy macrumors 65816

    Mr.Noisy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK™
    #22
    Mac Pro + 30" Dell Monitor,
    Spyder 2 pro for calibrating the Dell,
    RAW Conversion: Capture NX
    Photo Editing: Photoshop & Photomatix

    :)
     
  23. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #23
    My hardware's pretty lightweight by comparison to most here.

    I used to use a MacBook Pro, but now I'm on a MacBook Air (1.83GHz processor / SSD drive / 9400M). For software I've now moved to Aperture 3, with occasional use of Photoshop CS4. Initial organization and edits are done using the built-in LCD (calibrated w/ Spyder 2 Pro, but it's certainly not a particularly good screen); for images I care more about I generally plug into an external Dell monitor (calibrated, of course).

    Eventually I intend to purchase a higher end LaCie, NEC, or Eizo panel; but the Dell calibrates pretty well actually.
     
  24. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #24
    This is a photography forum, isn't it???

    Where are the photo's of your system? :p

    Here's mine...

    [​IMG]

    2009 Mac Pro Quad (2.93GHz; 6GB) with dual 24" ACD's and 3x Intel SSD's in RAID0 for storage.

    [​IMG]

    BTW, as is probably obvious, I suspect I'm one of the few here where my computer is worth more than my camera. :)
     

Share This Page